Feb 16, 2017 Books Web Exclusive

With Out of the Basement, author and former Rockford, IL resident David A. Ensminger discusses the musical history of his hometown. More

Feb 16, 2017 Live Web Exclusive

On a chilly late January night in Philadelphia, Americana band The Devil Makes Three brought the rock.


Dutch Uncles

Big Balloon

Memphis Industries

Feb 16, 2017 Music Issue # 59 - 15th Anniversary

Manchester four-piece Dutch Uncles make twisty art-rock with a unique style, incorporating elements of prog and Talking Heads-esque post-punk into their sound. More

Feb 15, 2017 Music Issue # 59 - 15th Anniversary

He's Got the Whole This Land Is Your Land In His Hands is absurdity at it's most resolute: a bending stream of puzzles and mongering references pouring unapologetically from a band with a history of 20+ years and a 20+ person oft-changing line-up, straight from a voice that has held its course.  More


Fresh Air


Feb 14, 2017 Music Web Exclusive

We've heard that Peter Sagar is Mac DeMarco's touring guitarist. We know he must be good then. But his lo-fi, boyish, oddly smooth R&B treatments under his rather unpresuming Homeshake moniker leave us in a muddled mess.  More

Feb 14, 2017 Music Web Exclusive

With Love If PossibleShintaro Sakamoto continues his disappearing act, cleanly morphing into his churning, porously sultry corner seat of jazz-luau personified, poring over pleasure-inducing, supple lounge drops, that play so nicely in the background anywhere.  More

Feb 13, 2017 Music Web Exclusive

Thievery Corporation, the Washington DC-based duo of Rob Garza and Eric Hilton, has thrived for 20 years so you should already be familiar with their exquisite dub-inspired, downbeat, electronica.      More

War on Everyone

Studio: Saban Films
Directed by John Michael McDonagh

Feb 13, 2017 Cinema Web Exclusive

 It seems unlikely that, in an America ravaged by police shootings and generally teetering on the edge of authoritarian dystopia, audiences will be endeared to a pair of gleefully corrupt cops who resort to violence for kicks.  More

Feb 11, 2017 Live

MENT Festival was shrouded in mystery. That quickly changed.  More