An Education (Sony Pictures Classics) | Under the Radar - Music Magazine
Wednesday, June 3rd, 2020  

An Education

Studio: Sony Pictures Classics
Directed by Lone Scherfig; Starring: Carey Mulligan, Peter Sarsgaard and Alfred Molina

Oct 09, 2009 Issue #28 Fall 2009 - Monsters of Folk
Bookmark and Share


Jenny (Carey Mulligan) is a brilliant, pretty schoolgirl dying of boredom in postwar but pre-swinging '60s England. Her overbearing parents are concerned about her Latin homework, she has to smuggle records into her room, and her boyfriend's a drag. When will she be free to wear black, smoke cigarettes, speak French, and attend Oxford? Enter the older man. When David (Peter Sarsgaard) turns his attention to Jenny, suddenly the sweet life doesn't seem so far away.

An Education, written by Nick Hornby (High Fidelity, About a Boy) and based on British journalist Lynn Barber's memoir, is a heady mix of fabulous clothes, beautiful objects, lovely music, art auctions, nightclubs, and glamorous friends. The production and costume design are swoon-worthy. But it's Mulligan's performance as Jenny that makes the film. Mulligan deftly handles Jenny's transformation from levelheaded overachiever to headstrong teen under the spell of the seductive charms of David and his band of merry-makers. Warning: Watching Jenny grapple with life-altering decisions may make you question a few of your own. 

www.aneducationfilm.com

Author rating: 8/10

Rate this movie
Average reader rating: 7/10



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

John
January 14th 2019
1:24am

If you have any trouble and you’re lazy, and you want uk coursework writing services then check out our website and avail the best services.

Broken glasses frame
January 14th 2019
5:36am

Beautiful blog thanks for sharing. Get your eyeglasses at eyeglass repair shop

Joe keery
March 2nd 2019
11:17am

The education, written by High Fidelity, About a student, based on the memoirs of USA journalist Lynn Barber, is a wonderful mix of wonderful clothes, 5BucksEssay.com - beautiful things, beautiful music, art galleries, night clubs and friends.

manifestor
March 11th 2019
9:29am

Abundance Manifestor
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iGEY9tSDa14

Amber
March 14th 2019
1:54am

Thanks for sharing this post, I have been in Oxford university event last year, And it was great and full of fun. Now I am a businesswoman I a running a dissertation writing company in England.

Amber
March 14th 2019
1:54am

Thanks for sharing this post, I have been in Oxford university event last year, And it was great and full of fun. Now I am a businesswoman I a running a dissertation writing company in England.

Relax pro tv
April 11th 2019
10:58pm

Lone Scherfig directed very well, and it was a pure classical movie. Whereas, my rating for the film is 8.5 rating. Also, you can view all such amazing film on your smartphone. For that, you have to visit the https://liveiptvapks.com/.

Max Paige
April 19th 2019
4:39am

We provide all celebrities leather jackets and outfits they wore in latest movies. WorldClassJackets.com Serves with Best Quality Leather Jackets for Men and Women.

Michael Bell
April 19th 2019
4:40am

We provide all celebrities leather jackets and outfits they wore in latest movies. WorldClassJackets.Com Serves with Best Quality Leather Jackets for Men and Women.