Coachella 2010 Day Three Report – Pavement, Thom Yorke, Gorillaz, and more | Under The Radar Magazine Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Friday, April 16th, 2021  

Pavement's Stephen Malkmus at Coachella 2010

Charlotte Gainsbourg, Deerhunter, Florence and the Machine, Coachella 2010, Local Natives, Gorillaz, Mayer Hawthorne, Thom Yorke, Pavement, Phoenix

Coachella 2010 Day Three Report – Pavement, Thom Yorke, Gorillaz, and more,

Apr 20, 2010 Deerhunter Photography by Wendy Lynch Redfern Bookmark and Share


Day three of Coachella 2010 more than made up for a lackluster day two, with set after set of strong artists and ending with perhaps the three best performances of the whole festival, all in a row: Pavement, Thom Yorke, and Gorillaz. It would have been nice if the wealth of great artists had been spread out a little bit more over the three days, but then again, Sunday wouldn’t have been so strong if they had scheduled it that way.

Due to Delphic’s no show thanks to the Icelandic volcano, the first Sunday set I saw was Local Natives. The Gobi tent was overflowing with people curious to check out the justly acclaimed Los Angeles five-piece. If Coachella books them again, they’re likely to be playing the Outdoor Theatre. “I’m a little bummed we’re playing during Owen Pallett. So thank you for making that decision, it was a hard one to make,” said Keleey Ayer, reinforcing that there were just too many compelling artists all playing up against each other on Sunday. Local Natives are one of the most exciting new bands to come out of LA in awhile and they proved their worth with “Sun Hands,” which ended the set. The band was on fire and at the end the song erupted like an Icelandic volcano, with multiple members playing a drum of some sort and guitars being attacked. It might be an understatement to say that the crowd was amped.

“This is crazy…. I can’t believe a violinist is playing outside to so many people,” said Owen Pallett over at the Outdoor Theatre. Pallett, who genuinely seemed happy to be there, was playing the violin and singing. Sometimes he sampled and then looped his violin and played over top of the loop. He was sometimes joined by one other member, who alternated between drums and guitar. “It’s kind of like the gay ghetto stage with me and Bradford and Jonsi,” Pallett joked, referring to other performers at the Outdoor Theatre later that day, Deerhunter’s Bradford Cox and Jonsi. Before one song Pallett had trouble tuning his violin and chalked it up to the weather. “Man, direct sunlight on a fiddle. I wish I played a synthesizer,” he said. Pallett sang into his violin’s microphone at one point, which gave it a distorted and echoed effect. Because of all the looping and layering of his violin on his last song, Pallett had a surprisingly big sound for just himself and one other musician.

Neo-soul singer Mayer Hawthorne ran out onto the Gobi stage soon after his backing band The Country started playing, and immediately started singing. He was decked out in a sharp suit and tie and Buddy Holly-esque glasses. In the 2010 soul realm, Hawthorne came off like a less soulful Jamie Lidell, but with a more authentic backing band. But when compared to the new queen of soul, Sharon Jones, Hawthorne is hardly the king. He’s more the Wonder Bread to Jones’ whole grain soul and seemed more interested in pimping his Twitter account than getting deep. Regardless, the audience was having fun and Hawthorne entertained, even if he didn’t excite.

“This song goes out to all the people who didn’t take a shower this weekend. It’s called ‘Wash Off,’” said Deerhunter’s Bradford Cox back over at the Gay Ghetto Stage…I mean, the Outdoor Theatre. “Wash Off” was noisy, not quite to the level of 2009 Coachella performers My Bloody Valentine, but it was still kind of abrasive sounding for an afternoon set in the hot sun. Soon after, the band had technical problems to do with guitarist Lockett Pundt (“we’ve got a power issue,” said Cox), so Cox sang an impromptu song about Coachella to fill time. His made-up-on-the-spot lyrics went a little something like this: “Coachella 2010/Lots of people in the sun/lots of kids having fun/How many kids OD’d in the medical center?/How many condoms broke in the hotel/supplying future festivals with their audience?” “That’s for you guys, dedicated especially to you, from my heart,” said Cox. With technical problems resolved the set really got going with Microcastle highlights “Never Stops” and “Nothing Ever Happened.” Spoon’s Britt Daniel was watching from the side of the stage as Deerhunter had just concluded a tour opening for Spoon.

Florence and the Machine really should’ve been playing on a bigger stage. The Gobi tent was flanked by tons of people trying to get in or to just catch a glimpse of the redheaded singer from England. It was impossible to get into the tent without being more aggressive than I was prepared to be on the third day of Coachella, too worn out to be overly pushy. So I tried to watch from the outside through the openings. I could see okay from the side, but the sound was lousy. At the very back I couldn’t see much, but the sound was marginally better. I was able to hear Florence Welch say, “I’ll tell you what, it takes a lot to get me to the desert,” making light of her fair complexion. “Kiss With a Fist,” “The Drums,” and “Raise It Up,” all sounded good from my vantage point (and probably sounded amazing from inside the tent), and it was clear that Welch had magnetic stage presence, but I gave up, no doubt missing “Dog Days Are Over.” Last year Welch was a simple spectator, this year she played to an over-capacity Gobi tent, next year the main stage perhaps?

The Gobi tent was nowhere near as full for Charlotte Gainsbourg’s set, but she still played to a healthy crowd (likely including almost every French person at Coachella). The Anglo-French singer/actress was backed by a five person band. To the disappointment of some, that band did not include Beck, who produced, wrote, and sang on her recent album, IRM, and who performed with Gainsbourg not that long ago on the KCRW radio station. Gainsbourg mainly sang, but sometimes played some percussion, as if to show that she was a real musician, not just an actress pretending to be one. “It’s my first time in Coachella. First time, first tour, first everything. So thank-you for being here,” said a visibly gracious Gainsbourg. Her set leaned heavy on IRM tracks, which is too bad, because 2006’s 5:55 (recorded with Air and written by Jarvis Cocker and Neil Hannon) is the superior album. She did play a couple of songs from 5:55, including “Jamais” (which thrived on a slinky bass-line) and bonus track “Set Yourself on Fire,” but several highlights from that album (“The Operation” and “Beauty Mark,” to name two) were left off the set-list. But Gainsbourg did perform a French song that I believe she said was from her father Serge’s album Histoire de Melody Nelson. Gainsbourg’s voice didn’t have a lot of power live, and some moments of her set bordered on dull, whereas others were charming.

I only caught the tale end of Jonsi’s set at the Outdoor Theatre, but he was making quite a racket, with pounding drums and an epic euphoria to his soaring pipes. He was also wearing a headdress. I didn’t see much of Spoon’s main stage set either, which Britt Daniel said marked the end of their tour with Deerhunter. Bradford Cox played guitar during “Who Makes Your Money.” I also heard “Don’t Make Me a Target,” “I Turn My Camera On,” and “The Way We Get By.”

France’s Phoenix played the Outdoor Theatre, but easily could have commanded a big audience on the main stage, I’ve never seen so many people at the Outdoor Theatre in all my years of attending every Coachella. Before playing “Consolation Prizes,” vocalist Thomas Mars referred to the Icelandic volcano: “We almost didn’t make it today…we decided to keep it simple. Tonight it’s only going to be about the music.” It’s interesting how big Phoenix has become in the last year. Not that long ago they could barely get arrested when it came to the American mainstream, but the band’s fourth album, Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix, made it onto the Billboard Top 40, whereas previous albums didn’t even chart in America.

Sly Stone was supposed to play the Gobi tent at 7 p.m., but was a no show. Things didn’t bode well when his set was already running 30 minutes and crew were up on ladders adjusting lights. The word was that he was going to play after Little Boots at around 9 p.m., and it was later announced that he was actually playing at 10:40 in the Mojave tent instead, which actually did come into fruition. I didn’t see his eventual set (it was during Gorillaz), but various Internet reports and YouTube videos have shown that it was disastrous, with Stone rambling on about being sued by his former manager, barely singing, and eventually walking off stage mid song.

The final three sets ended Coachella 2010 on a complete high. A reformed Pavement made the most of their main stage set, even if there were less spectators than expected (I assumed they’d be the hot ticket of the day, but while there was a healthy crowd, it seemed as though Phoenix had siphoned off too many potential Pavement watchers). “Happy to see Pavement again?” asked guitarist Scott “Spiral Stairs” Kannberg before “Shady Lane.” “We’re happy to see you.” Later, Kannberg joked, “We’re Pavement, back from the dead, back from the grave.” The ‘90s indie legends played a rousing no-nonsense greatest hits set that also included the likes of “Stereo,” “Gold Soundz,” and “Cut Your Hair.” Stephen Malkmus’ own hair was often in his face. His signature deadpan sense of humor was also on display. Before “Range Life,” which Malkmus said he was supposed to dedicate to someone, but he couldn’t remember who, he gave shout outs to a few local high schools. After one song he jokingly boasted, “Yes! I hit every one of those notes.” After another, he said, “That was pretty much the ‘90s in a nutshell.” Pavement played the first Coachella, in 1999, but the band admits today that the set was a mess, as it wasn’t long after that they broke up. The band more than made up for it with the 2010 show. Kannberg referred to P.I.L.‘s Friday night set as “fucking great,” but he really should’ve been talking about his own band’s performance. To play on a lyric from “Shady Lane,” we were just extras in the festival adaptation to the sequel of Pavement’s career. Bring on a new album!

Thom Yorke and his side band Atoms for Peace likely broke the record just set by Phoenix for the most people ever watching a band at the Outdoor Theatre. As I walked over to the stage I overheard one guy explain to his clueless friend, “he’s the lead singer of Radiohead.” He’s only the singer of one of the most acclaimed bands of the last two decades! “We’re called Atoms for Peace. My name’s Thom. We’re going to play every track off our album Eraser,” said Yorke near the start of a set that followed through with his promise. Atoms for Peace’s lineup also consisted of Flea (Red Hot Chili Peppers), Radiohead producer Nigel Godrich, Mauro Refosco (Forro in the Dark), and famous session drummer Joey Waronker. Flea in particular stood out, his bass prevalent in many of the songs. When the video screens first cut to a blue haired Flea the crowd went wild. Thanks in large part to Flea’s bass, the songs from The Eraser sounded a lot funkier live and the consistent rhythm and pace of the songs rarely let up. Atoms for Peace allows Yorke to let loose a little more without the weight of Radiohead. He seemed genuinely happy and animated, dancing around the stage with abandon as a wall of neon lights flashed behind the band.

Yorke took to the stage solo for the start of the encore. “This one you don’t know, unless you spend too much time on YouTube,” Yorke joked before performing a new song solo on acoustic guitar (although he sampled and looped his singing to act as backing vocals). “Maybe you remember this one,” said Yorke before surprising everyone by performing Radiohead’s “Airbag” on acoustic guitar. He then moved to the piano for a gorgeous rendition of Radiohead’s “Everything In It’s Right Place.” It was assumed that Yorke likely would only perform solo work, so it was nice to see that he wasn’t above pleasing the crowd with a couple of Radiohead songs.

Then the band came back on and Yorke said, “Now we’re gonna play some mad shit. We’ll need all the energy you’ve got left, you’ve got to dance.” Somehow, Yorke seemed more relaxed then when on stage with his main band. Then Atoms for Peace played the first new song they’ve written together. “When we got together in Los Angeles last summer we wondered what to do. We came up with this. This is called ‘Judge, Jury, and Executioner,’” explained Yorke. As I was walking over to see the start of Gorillaz, the last thing I heard Yorke say, before Atoms for Peace’s final song, was “This is to freak out to. You’ve had a long weekend and you need to freak out.” If, God forbid, Radiohead ever break up then Atoms for Peace would be a welcome backup plan.

Ever since its inception, Gorillaz has been trying to work out how to put together its live show. Everyone knows that Gorillaz is really Blur’s Damon Albarn, artist Jamie Hewlett, and whoever else is collaborating on that particular album, but for awhile they tried to maintain the illusion of the animated characters supposedly fronting the band, by utilizing hologram technology to make it seem like the virtual band was performing. Due to the prohibitive costs of all that, the real Gorillaz now perform live and Albarn, along with a full backing band and an array of guests, was front and center on Coachella’s main stage.

The band was all dressed as sailors and the lineup included a string section. The set opened with “Welcome to the World of the Plastic Beach,” which Snoop Dogg sings on Gorillaz’s recently released third album, Plastic Beach. Snoop wasn’t there in person, but a video image of him singing the song appeared on the video screens and the band played along. It worked, mainly because the band sounded so confident. The performance included plenty of special guests from Plastic Beach in person. Bobby Womack took the stage for both “Stylo” and “Cloud of Unknowing.” De La Soul had already performed on the same stage earlier in the day, so it was a shoe in that they’d join in the Gorillaz fun with “Super Fast Jellyfish” (although I had hoped that Super Furry Animals’ Gruff Rhys would’ve made an appearance too, but his part on that song was provided via backing track). More surprising was when De La Soul came back out for “Feel Good Inc.,” which predictably sent the crowd into wild fits of excitement that overshot the enthused reception that had met “Clint Eastwood” earlier in the set. Little Dragon vocalist Yukimi Nagano (whose band played Coachella on Friday) sang on “Empire Ants” and “To Binge” (both Plastic Beach highlights and the latter a duet with Albarn). Oh, and members of a little band called The Clash (Paul Simonon and Mick Jones) played with the band the whole night (Simonon was also in The Good, the Bad, & the Queen with Albarn).

A Middle Eastern band was literally wheeled out on a platform for “White Flag,” which began as a traditional sounding song from the region, but then segued into a hip-hop beat with rapping, which added to the wonderfully eclectic nature of the set (and Gorillaz in general). Demon Days tracks “Dirty Harry” and “Kids With Guns” were also played; the former featuring a pre-recorded kids choir presented as animated children on the video screen and the latter briefly morphed into Salt-n-Pepa’s “Push It.” Beneath all the bells and whistles was a truly funky backing band, and Albarn’s inviting vocals anchored the whole thing. Gorillaz simply sounded amazing. At one point Albarn briefly pretended to conduct the string section, but it was clear that he was definitely the man in charge of this circus. Back in the mid-‘90s Britpop era Albarn was briefly caught up in the Blur vs. Oasis rivalry when the two bands released a big single on the same day. All of that is a distant and irrelevant memory, but now that Oasis has broken up (and stopped making great music awhile before that), it could be noted that Albarn has long been able to hold the title of the eventual winner in that silly publicity battle. With Gorillaz he’s making forward-thinking, genre-blending music that is very much of this era, and has come out ahead of anyone else associated with the whole Britpop scene (apologies to Jarvis Cocker, who also still makes great music).

With Coachella 2010 wrapped up, here are some lessons that the organizers could learn for next year. Don’t overstuff one day with too many great artists, while leaving the other days’ line-ups a little bit wanting. Either try not to put hugely hyped new artists (Florence and the Machine, Local Natives) in the Gobi tent or make the tent bigger or further limit the number of tickets sold. Hire more parking staff and/or convince the local police to help more with parking, just find better solutions to the traffic problem. It worked great on Sunday night to have Thom Yorke at the Outdoor Theatre, right in between Pavement and Gorillaz on the main stage, meaning that you had three amazing artists in a role with almost no interruption (and, for the most part, no two artists playing at the same time); do that again. Don’t book old school artists known for being flaky and having erratic stage shows (à la Sly Stone). But do book more reformed artists like Pavement or other old schoolers/reformers who have wowed in recent years (Paul McCartney, Prince, Roger Waters, The Verve, Portishead, My Bloody Valentine, etc.); there weren’t enough of those this year. Book Thom Yorke, no matter what band he’s in, same goes with Damon Albarn. And I would add that they shouldn’t schedule a festival right after an Icelandic volcano eruption, but there’s not much they can do about that. Despite these suggestions, after more than a decade, Coachella still remains America’s finest music festival.




Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

stephan
April 23rd 2009
8:05pm

this album is amazing!

Frostified
April 26th 2009
9:00pm

What a weird combo. ‘The Last Picture Show’ is a great film.

Frank L.
April 27th 2009
6:56am

This movie so rocks.  I loved it.

Frostified
April 27th 2009
8:05pm

It’s weird, “That Beep” sounds so much like Annie. AIH have definitely changed up their style.

Chuck
April 29th 2009
5:14am

A lackluster DVD so mediocre that it’s been reviewed twice on this website!

concerned fan
April 29th 2009
6:59am

Can I get a comment on the music of Conor Oberst and not his comments or who he dedicated songs to.  Please.  It’s not too much to ask from a music website is it.

Frostified
May 2nd 2009
1:31am

I still haven’t seen this movie. I’ve really admired Aronofsky’s previous films though.

Frostified
May 2nd 2009
1:32am

What a terrible DVD cover. WOW. Terrifying.

Frosty
May 20th 2009
1:51am

I’ve never been a big fan of Silversun…meh.

Jacob
May 22nd 2009
4:52pm

“The material isn’t always up to par the way earlier between-the-records EPs were, but it still beats the hell out of Plans.”
THANK YOU. and agreed.

fo.ne.tik.
May 26th 2009
6:52pm

great review! both shows rocked!

Nina Kurtz
May 26th 2009
7:14pm

This reviewer really transported me to the show! Great writer for a great performer.

Diamond Jewellery India
May 27th 2009
9:47am

Hello Kyle lemmon, Really very nice information on Buraka Som Sistema. Really very nice and fantastic info on black diamond. Thanks for your nice info.

Bar stools
May 28th 2009
3:35pm

I just wanted to say I really liked your review of House of Mystery. It was good to know how it has developed over the years. Keep up the good work.

Scott
May 30th 2009
12:47am

This is an ok ep.  I have to say that none of their recent material is even close to their earlier albums.

James
June 5th 2009
5:46am

FYI just watched this show, sucks! Wished it didn’t but it does. Haha all wealthy people are dumb, evil, and think they can buy anthing… jeeze lets just stereo type everyone. Wealthy people just don’t deserve to live I guess according to all these shows that exploit wealth as evil.

Gonzales - linkin park songs
June 7th 2009
8:26pm

Rockband for real. It’s realy kicks ass) I hope the part two kicks ass as twice)))

Josh Tillman
June 11th 2009
9:39pm

The lyric in “James Blues” is:
“James incurred the wrath of jealous woman
And not long after that
Was spending all his weekends
Trying to relearn
How a young man yearns after a nurse”

It’s about castration.  I have little more of a sense of humor than your interpretation suggests.

dummy
June 11th 2009
9:42pm

“have a little more of”.  oops.

Gary Knight
June 18th 2009
1:06am

Great review, Frank.

jackson
June 22nd 2009
8:57am

This picture represents a huge leap forward for its director..a very nice post Chris.

Nicky
June 22nd 2009
9:06am

Wonders never cease, Coachella’s when this both fabulous performers start the event with a great start it is great to watch..

maria jones
June 22nd 2009
9:12am

The rock band which we can say alternative is My Bloody Valentine..This is a very nice post

danny
June 22nd 2009
9:19am

She’s so hot/cute/adorable….....She is so cute…

Tasha
June 22nd 2009
9:22am

Wow! Marcus, This is a very nice post…Depeche Mode are fabulous..

ben
June 22nd 2009
9:45am

Some styles are more casual while others are meant for going out on ...poofing up skirts is very good

Amanda
June 22nd 2009
10:01am

When Bruce Springsteen finally broke through to national recognition in the fall of 1975 after a decade of trying, critics hailed him as the savior of rock

Barnes
June 22nd 2009
10:04am

The bonus features with Doubt on Blu-ray start off with From Stage to Screen, a series of interviews with the cast and crew about…

Chris
June 24th 2009
9:40am

I’m one of the fans of The Killers. They’re cool.

KG
June 26th 2009
10:00pm

I saw them play in Austin a few weeks ago. The new stuff is awesome, and they played beautifully.  My favorite track is “Slow Fade,” a single tear streamed down my face when they played it. So good.

Marc
July 3rd 2009
9:33am

Thanks for such a detailed review. You’ve very keen observation for the details that should be there, indeed.

Longtin
July 3rd 2009
9:39am

Hi Chris, you are so right about the borders - the top one is incredible. Great thinking!!!

wils0n
July 3rd 2009
9:42am

Bonnaroo has always placed an emphasis on local and sustainable ways of making music. ..Nice Blog.

jackson
July 3rd 2009
9:49am

I was actually hoping for a really good Doubt as a Blu-Ray comp….and it is able to prove itself….

Leslie Andrew Ridings
July 5th 2009
7:13am

I totally get what you mean when you say “the sound of best friends making music together.” I think their sound is really warm and strangely intimate. I don’t know. It feels like music at a house party and the band is having beers and talking between songs—I like it; but the production is really thin, as you said.

Thanks for the review, Laura.

john
July 9th 2009
7:29pm

You have to be kidding me Lily.  This show does suck and bad.  Totally unrealistic specifically in how these characters behave.  Stupid crap.

rexson
July 10th 2009
12:24pm

Saw Bruce in Philly April 28th and April 29th. ALWAYS a great show! I went with a friend who had never seen him and she said it was more than a concert, it was an event—how right she was.

google cell phone
July 13th 2009
6:36pm

It is really a nice post, its always great reading such posts, this post is good in regards of both knowledge as well as information. i like stuff like ghostland observatory, the hush sound, the kills, indie music, black moth super rainbow, radiohead. anything that sounds weird and funky and has good sound to it. i do not like the teen boy singing the song. generations i like are indie, visual, experimental, psychedelic. along those lines. thank you in advance for the helping me on my music quest.Thanks for the post.

Frank
July 14th 2009
11:34pm

Nice Cracker reference!

Wound First Aid
July 16th 2009
7:51am

A full album is set for release in September 2009. The confidence, wide range of obvious natural talent and exceptional promise of these songs is undeniable. The future for First Aid Kit feels star bright.

film izle
July 17th 2009
5:57pm

thanks for info.

Lisa Hur
July 19th 2009
7:43am

The “barely” is everything in Wendy and Lucy. The sparse dialogue and lack of plot was the film’s message. Its panoramic moments said so much without saying anything at all. Wendy appears sedated much of the film but in a single moment, a bathroom meltdown, her story unravels. A story no one is sure of. In most every shot of the film we follow Wendy but learn little. We leave her without closure, but feel satisfaction without the closure nonetheless, amazed that such simple experience could be so captivating for two hours. I only wish I knew what her bandage was for and why her sister rejected her. Why else was she hurting and why was it so important for us not to know?

müzik dinle
July 19th 2009
7:53am

thank you
very much
oo fantastic film

Wendy Redfern
July 20th 2009
8:01pm

This was SO good!!!!

fan
July 21st 2009
4:09pm

Why are you so LATE on the tallest man UTR?  I’m disappointed and mad at you for it.  I hope you do a feature on him when his next album is release!

Laura Studarus
July 24th 2009
6:25am

Counting down…freaking out. Come on Friday!

Sarkilar
July 25th 2009
6:26pm

thanks for article.

Mike Trevor
July 31st 2009
8:57am

I downloaded a few songs from this collection, I like it.
I really love it, play it on my laptop regularly.

Nina Sutherland
July 31st 2009
3:25pm

I love “Tracy’s Waters”  , it’s a wonderful mix of Psych folk and Dream pop

San Diego Weddings
August 5th 2009
8:04pm

I loved Grizzly Bear!  It was so calm and intimate in that space

iicepack
August 7th 2009
6:27pm

So, if I understood this correctly, they are Australians making Brit pop? I’ve seen a lot of this lately. Looks like UK nostalgia never died out.

iicepack
August 8th 2009
2:00pm

I think I’ll get this from the library if they have it… I know nothing about this band.

ummreally?
August 11th 2009
7:11pm

Wow…you totally missed the boat on the Jane’s review…Claiming you were there to see the one song that was a commercial smash led me to discount your review immediately, but I read on to see if you redeemed yourself.  Nope.  Fans of the band would absolutely disagree with your take, as the band’s true genius was displayed over and over during the set, Perry’s prancing aside.  He’s a consummate front-man, great voice, showmanship, and control of the spotlight. 
And, yes, ugly girls DO have to be sluttier than the good-looking ones.  Stick to reviewing bands you have a clue about.

Surveillance
August 12th 2009
5:10pm

You are, of course, referring to Alexander Mccall Smith’s series. There are so many witty observations in these books regarding male-female differences and the impact that these have on relationships.
Mma Ramotswe believes that women are best suited for detective work because women notice details, are observant, listen, and have more insight into human psychology than men.

share your discoveries
August 14th 2009
6:53am

Gives Thanks, Very fascinating read, you should be dramatic of your web logs. I’ve been genuinely delighting developing up your situations from meter to time. Looking forward to understand your future positions
Many wonderful selective information, thanks for partaking.  Testament definitely be back more often….

mark
August 16th 2009
3:24pm

i thought it was a good movie

Frosty
August 18th 2009
9:39am

This game looks just as terrible as the movie!

Kyle Lemmon
August 21st 2009
12:27am

At first I thought Hester and Parks were just biting ‘Ghost Rider,” but I’ll have to check it out sometime.

Mila
August 21st 2009
12:30pm

They are COOL

Mo
August 24th 2009
8:57pm

wow!  that was a lame review.  I think they are great.  Apparently thousands of others do too.  They love them in Europe as well.  U.S. is always the last to recognize real talent.

Lens
August 25th 2009
4:08pm

The looks very pretty :)

Thank you for the post and photo.

KtownBboy
August 27th 2009
9:42am

Agreed. This was a dope show. One of the better I’ve been to in ‘09. Check out their performance of “Jump In the Pool” from the show.

<object width=“425” height=“344”><param name=“movie” value=“http://www.youtube.com/v/Il83g8-bkA0&hl=en&fs=1&”></param></param></param><embed src=“http://www.youtube.com/v/Il83g8-bkA0&hl=en&fs=1&” type=“application/x-shockwave-flash” allowscriptaccess=“always” allowfullscreen=“true” width=“425” height=“344”></embed></object>

Justin Voigtschild
August 28th 2009
6:58pm

This high of a review score makes me question how you call yourself a journalist. I read the initial issue and it was utter trash with no redeeming value whatsoever. This title could have done for Greek mythology what Fables did for children’s stories and fictional characters. Instead the writer decided to go for the disgusting, unimaginative stories. I agree that Peter Milligan can be hit and miss in what he writes but this 1st issue made me want to throw up and regret spending $1.00 to give it a try. I have read Vertigo comics for about 10 years and this comic is truly the worst executed idea with no redeeming value I have ever had the misfortune to read.

Josh
August 31st 2009
6:49pm

I would’ve loved to see Henry Rollins.  He cracks me up!

haZel
September 2nd 2009
12:39pm

Thank you for your review. If this show was a decade earlier, I would’ve been there! Also, I empathize on your anger, when people leave before the show is “over” [the encore]. A band like MEW deserves an encore!
“Comforting Sounds” is awesome to hear live. My husband and I were privileged to see/hear them in D.C. a few years ago.

Kathy
September 2nd 2009
7:08pm

I love this show!  Can’t wait untill next summer to pick up the New Shows.

Funny Quotes About Life
September 5th 2009
8:45am

Whats Fray for the uninitiated? A buffy spin off comic from a few years back, which I understand never got its story finished. So Joss has decedied to combine it with a buffy story to finish it.
So we have a back history a number of fans may be unaware of and time travel etc thrown in? sounds like an awful idea but it works excellently.
The art is by Korl Moline who i believe did the original Fray comic, he is fairly similar in style to Georges Jeanty who usually does the book so its all pretty familiar.
The story is complicated and takes a little while to see where it is going but the end result and character writing are excellent. Not a good starting point for new readers but a great read none the less.

Notty
September 5th 2009
9:34pm

I became interested in this topic and tried to find additional information. Much of it I downloaded from http://www.ebook-search-queen.com.

Molly
September 6th 2009
1:07am

As I visited the Woodstock Music and Arts Fair it was interesting for me to read The Road to Woodstock (http://www.ebook-search-queen.com) and to compare its contents with what I saw. Great!

address public records
September 7th 2009
9:37am

The overarching plot, revolving around the secrets buried underneath a clandestine basement, fares much better. Head writer, Matthew Sturges, is learning at a fast pace as the series[..]

Vadim Uvazhny
September 8th 2009
9:58am

Did anybody watch this film? Share your impressions, please.

Heathrow Airport Parking
September 8th 2009
11:42am

Have you ever considered adding more videos to your blog posts to keep the readers more entertained? I mean I just read through the entire article of yours and it was quite good but since I’m more of a visual learner,I found that to be more helpful well let me know how it turns out! I love what you guys are always up too. Such clever work and reporting! Keep up the great works guys I’ve added you guys to my blogroll. This is a great article thanks for sharing this informative information.. I will visit your blog regularly for some latest post.

Bradley Albert Burkley
September 9th 2009
6:14pm

I’m in the middle of reading this book and was stoked to see it reviewed in one of my favorite mags. The review is pretty strait up, as is the book. Interesting for those who know about Steve Kilbey or not. For those who have been in or are in music groups, with it’s drama and challlenges, No Certainty Attached of particular interest.

juan
September 10th 2009
8:12pm

“smashing success” = 6/10?

John Everhart
September 11th 2009
8:10pm

It’s a fine record, but not quite worthy of a 7 or 8, which are reserved for top twenty of the year candidates, which this honestly isn’t for me. But if you’re a fan of Polvo, you’ll like it, and even if you aren’t, it’s an excellent invitation to explore their great back catalog. And “smashing success” is removed from its context of “As far as unheralded reunions go,” as many are downright insipid, and this one is anything but that.

Fire science
September 14th 2009
5:48am

Who designed Stephanie’s Jacket in science of sleep and where can I get a similar coat?
Science of Sleep is a movie and her military jacket is cute

Ted
September 18th 2009
3:13am

I concur my friend.

Margaret
September 20th 2009
3:05am

The hype machine sold Sweet Tooth #1. It was pretty good, but I’m hoping we’ll see a little more happening in issue #2.

Then again, I ought have a little more faith in Lemire, he’s pretty damned good.

John
September 21st 2009
6:09am

Will there be a second season of the No 1 Ladies Detective agency?
find public record

Baby
September 26th 2009
2:35am

Can’t wait until this year’s concert. Fantastic stuff. Sooo hot though. Bringing plenty of water this year

DVD Rentals by email
September 29th 2009
11:33am

Ok this is by far the best series ive seen so far its got great story line, Animation, and good art work…. But one problem is the disc has trouble reading on a Xbox. I putted in the disc once and it worked 2nd time it got defective. Great series to watch a must see

Mark Redfern
October 3rd 2009
7:08pm

I was surprised by how much I enjoyed this movie. It’s got a great soundtrack too: Jens Lekman, Tilly & the Wall, The Go! Team, Radiohead, and others.

sobakawa pillow
October 4th 2009
1:24pm

wow, San Francisco’s Girls must have been very bad. It has been a while since I have read such a damning review of any band

sobakawa pillow
October 4th 2009
3:53pm

Jenny Lewis is a babe. I also like the killers. I think they are class

wallets
October 6th 2009
12:19pm

The track wasn’t used and in fact went unheard for two-plus decades, but Gordon and Mingus occasionally unpacked it live. In any case, one can only hope that when Mingus finally flipped the calendar past the greatest year in jazz, dude hit the mattress for a well-deserved nap.

Davi
October 10th 2009
4:45pm

Great reviews. Loney Dear has been my favorite band because their music touched my soul and makes me feel good. Live they are incredible. I saw them in Fortaleza, Brazil, and I’ll remember that day for a long time.

Yason
October 13th 2009
7:06pm

I like bands what make good musics. And banana splitses.

Brian
October 14th 2009
1:51am

Did UTR ever do a review of the Rhino San Francisco nuggets box set?

Mark
October 21st 2009
2:22am

As a fan of the series who buys it month-to-month, I guess I’m biased in that I enjoyed it. I would be interested to see if non-Fables readers enjoyed it.

It’s great to see my favourite magazine cover my favourite comic. I check for a mention of it in every printed-issue of Under The Radar, and so far have only seen it in there this month!

Laura
October 21st 2009
10:39pm

Wow! Sounds like a fun show. Now if only we could get him to come out west…

Jkap123
October 22nd 2009
11:56pm

mellow but good/interesting mellow, not boring mellow.  also check out whitest boy alive (same singer)

tuxedo trousers
October 23rd 2009
10:33am

Where can I buy waterproof trousers not over trousers?
tuxedo trousers

lol
October 23rd 2009
6:55pm

who the hell says “blogosphere” anymore?

kow
October 25th 2009
10:52pm

its a Grower not a Show - er!

iicepack
October 26th 2009
2:22am

I wish this had been posted earlier. They had a show where I live tonight, and I could have gone ... oh well.

smikalis
October 26th 2009
4:05pm

This is a fantastic review.  I’m one of those people that consumes all things Pearl Jam (50+ live shows).  You nailed Backspacer perfectly.  I want to tell you how great it is but it isn’t - it is a step in the right direction though.  Nice job.

indoor wall fountains
October 27th 2009
6:41am

The overarching plot, revolving around the secrets buried underneath a clandestine basement, fares much better. Head writer,

camping tourist
October 27th 2009
9:07am

What is the best tourist attraction in the Philippines?
camping tourist