Mercury Rev: The Light in You (Bella Union) Review | Under the Radar - Music Magazine
Sunday, October 20th, 2019  

Mercury Rev

The Light in You

Bella Union

Sep 18, 2015 Issue #54 - August/September 2015 - CHVRCHES Bookmark and Share


We've been here before, countless times. A band whose heyday was a generation ago returns, sounding just as they did 15-20 years ago and dropping an evocation of just how wonderful that music we always loved was. This though, proves a double-edged sword as we realize that their music proved too influential and that every B-list indie band today has caught them up and made a career out of sounding like them. And we lament.

Or at least if we did, then Radiohead would be the only band critics liked (despite what you may believe, this is not the case). The Light in You is Mercury Rev's first LP in seven years and few returns are more welcome.

After all, 1998's Deserter's Songs is one of the best, most underrated albums of its decade: that this isn't much of a departure is probably a good thing, as the worst case scenario is that we get the opportunity to reacquaint ourselves with the band's brilliance, which is more than welcome. But whisper it quietly: this might turn out to be even better.

Okay, the lyrics can be a touch trite at times, but that's beside the point. Jonathan Donahue's vocals are merely an ingredient in the sounds of the songs. The raucous funk of "Sunflower," the light kaleidoscope of percussion on "Central Park East," and the reverb-heavy vocals and strings on "Emotional Freefall" create pieces that go beyond songs and become soundscapes. Without losing their hooks and melodies, they are the sound of a summer breeze rippling over a cornfield, or dappled sunlight on a picturesque harbour.

These 11 tracks have been carefully honed over the last two years and it shows. Nothingthe moogs, the timpanis, the mandolins, chimes, bells, guitars, keys, and the rest—gets wasted here. The album is clearly painstakingly and expertly crafted, yet still sounds effortless. (www.mercuryrev.com)

Author rating: 8/10

Rate this album
Average reader rating: 8/10



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

Grand Rapids Deck Builder
June 28th 2018
12:38pm

This is a great article thank you for sharing!

marketing
September 27th 2018
7:00am

Great album - great story.

Sierra
November 23rd 2018
8:03pm

Great article. Very informative.
pro pianters birmingham

Steel Roof
December 27th 2018
10:01am

Huge fan of this album. What Mercury did was nothing short of stellar! I seriously love it so much.

Taylor
February 15th 2019
3:07pm

You took the words right out of my mouth ‘expertly crafted, yet still sounds effortless.’ Thanks for the read.

tree service
February 19th 2019
11:35am

I was a huge fan of Mercury Rev back in the day. I was super excited when this album came out to hear them back at their top form.

arborist Aurora IL
February 22nd 2019
12:55pm

Love this album. Always dug their reverb-heavy vocals and use of strings.

Tree Services O'Fallon MO
February 26th 2019
12:18pm

Still one of the greatest albums of all time!

Wesley
March 12th 2019
1:57pm

Love this album, so beautiful! carpet cleaning Medicine Hat, Alberta

Photo Booth Rental DFW
March 23rd 2019
5:12pm

Good album, thanks for sharing

Rhey Plumb
April 5th 2019
10:14am

Nice review! Thanks for sharing.
Plumbing Chantilly

concrete knoxville tn
April 17th 2019
10:30am

I love this review! Very honest. Hope you continue doing the same to the rest!

Augusta
April 30th 2019
4:51pm

Great comeback album

Augusta
Owner - Augusta Tree Service

Bug Bros Tulsa
May 5th 2019
1:18pm

Great album thanks for sharing!
Michael
https://bugbros.com/locations/tulsa-oklahoma/pest-control/

Jimmy
May 13th 2019
11:40am

Thank you!
Vallejo Towing

Mountain View Tree Service
May 13th 2019
11:41am

Wonderful content :)

Tree Service San Diego
May 13th 2019
11:43am

Great stuff here!

Brandon
May 13th 2019
12:01pm

This is a great album. Thanks for sharing!

Allen J
May 15th 2019
6:31pm

This is actually a great album/musician, I’d highly recommend you guys check them out!
Allen -
https://www.qldmobiledogwash.com

Jon Burke
May 20th 2019
10:15am

Great review!

Jon | http://aspbillings.com/

esports management
May 21st 2019
6:53am

Have listened to your songs and they are awesome! :)

Michael Coleman
May 21st 2019
7:48pm

<a >Michael Coleman</a> Check out our Vancouver acting classes
<a >Michael Coleman Actor</a> Check out our Featured Actor
<a >Michael Coleman</a>michael-coleman-talks-career-acting-education This is a great article
<a >Michael Coleman Actor</a> Check out our studio
<a >Michael Coleman Actor</a> Another great read
<a >Michael Coleman</a> Also A great article
<a >Dog Walker Toronto</a> The best dog walking company with locations in Vancouver and Toronto.
<a >Best Water Softener</a> Find the best quality water softeners in Winnipeg!
<a >mobile mechanic Victoria BC</a> Get your auto repairs here
<a >professional carpet cleaners Erie PA</a>
<a >Contractors Erie PA</a>
<a >concrete contractors</a>
<a >Movers Erie PA</a>
<a >Moving company Youngstown PA</a>
<a >Professional dog trainer</a>
<a >Tree Removal</a>
<a >tow truck richmond</a>
<a >junk hauling</a>
<a >Tree service Vancouver</a>
<a >Tow Truck Youngstown</a>
<a >Michael Coleman Actor</a>
<a >Dog Training</a>
<a >Digital marketing</a>
<a >Michael Coleman Actor</a>
<a >Michael Coleman Actor</a>
<a >Michael Coleman Actor</a>
<a >Michael Coleman Actor</a>
<a >Michael Coleman Actor</a>

<a >Michael Coleman Actor</a>
<a >Michael Coleman Actor</a>
<a >Michael Coleman Actor</a>
<a >Michael Coleman Actor</a>
<a >Michael Coleman Actor</a>
<a >Michael Coleman Actor</a>

cincinnati concrete
May 30th 2019
10:15am

Still one of my favorite bands out there. Thanks for this amazing review!

Tree Service Vancouver
June 2nd 2019
7:13pm

This was a great read. Thank you again for continuing to post articles like this

Epoxy Floor Coating
June 3rd 2019
5:34am

The mercury needs added focus in regard to ability to support life, and so will other planets.

Rhey
June 4th 2019
10:48am

Great album review!
demolition contractor in alexandria va

motorcycle dealers tampa
June 5th 2019
5:46am

All the hardwork for making this music for 2 years is so worth it! Congratulations to all those people behind this success. :)

Daniel Perez
June 7th 2019
7:36am

Nice article! we have the same rate. Keep it up!
discoverziehler.com