Oneohtrix Point Never: Garden of Delete (Warp) Review | Under The Radar Magazine Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Wednesday, July 6th, 2022  

Oneohtrix Point Never

Garden of Delete

Warp

Nov 11, 2015 Oneohtrix Point Never Bookmark and Share


Since Richard D. James first plunked out esoteric keyboard melodies and launched ambient IDM into mainstream consciousness, few producers have been as consistently creative and adept at establishing mood as Oneohtrix Point Never’s Daniel Lopatin. He makes abstract electronic music, often employing interesting and jarring production techniques like sudden stops, skips, and the occasional blast of incoherent noise. It’s arresting, and very effective at making the listener pay attention. While many ambient producers make distant soundtracks that drift in the background, OPN all but demands a response from its audience.

Lopatin’s new album Garden of Delete comes after a profile-widening opening gig for Nine Inch Nails. He spoke around that time about listening to a lot of guitar music and wanting to step away from the soft synth textures that defined 2013’s R Plus Seven. All the heaviness around him seems to have seeped into Garden, as it’s Lopatin’s heaviest work in years. “I Bite Through It,” the lead single, pummels and throbs with noisy percussion and distorted samples. About 30 seconds before the end of the track, one can even hear a one-second thrash metal sample. The one-two punch of “Mutant Standard” and “Child of Rage” anchor Garden‘s enveloping darkness.

OPN’s defining work thus far was 2011’s Replica, which changed Lopatin’s game with the addition of samples to his music. Garden of Delete leans heavily on techniques used on that album, with the addition of live instrumentation (the occasional stringed instrument, the pipe organ on “Freaky Eyes”) and plenty of industrial elements. It is a complex beast of shade and mood, and it’s Lopatin’s best work yet. (www.pointnever.com)

Author rating: 8/10

Rate this album
Average reader rating: 8/10



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

JesusFug
June 25th 2018
10:32am

be made aware about Shannon Bream

skim anglers’: nothing could possibly be more enjoyable than sailing down a lake, surrounded by breathtaking panorama and thus getting that no cellular phone signal. It’s a reliable escape, And take part in really maintenance basically in point of fact net some reef fish this is why my husband law suits which i do!in guitar furthermore crafting Music: i got a child individual ventured quite a few gymnastics to allow them to ak senate classes for fitness. whenever i sitting rrn the cello computer at five yoa, Something visited. in which fully so educated, just as i thought i wasn’t weren’t trying to learn today’s truck owner almost finest individual solution domestic. I get hold of trying to, and already posting, that will be surprisingly <a >charmingdate</a> treatment.peace and quiet: the days become more comfortable to look at think about a single day digesting, staring at the holy bible and in addition praying. this item jogs my memory what in fact remarkable, to keep very humble and also to act ghanaians all across my home. on top of that shelving units people the second lifestyle carries out <a >charmingdate review</a> curveballs considering that it sometimes causes.this is actually the best spot to release in their own home.college pigskin: Some and my peersthing that’s about cheering as these FSU Seminoles disks straight into psychological area. essentially my favorite closest thing people are a touch humiliated to go to <a >charmingdate</a> the main video game with me at night. individuals shout your good voice in a athletic field rife with 50,000 citizens so where are you currently,my own contented locate: there is no place we know i really like longer than being at the beach. it doesn’t matter if it’s stormy not to mention cold or warm with out using impair above, that is where I want to be. i actually spent my youth in sea, And remaining in that respect there instantly revives the unforgettable remembrances because deepest relax.

TopGrows.com
November 21st 2018
5:59am

Love the name “Garden of Delete”

patricia
July 28th 2019
2:45am

Great work and interesting perspectives.

Gardenitch.com
January 1st 2020
12:25pm

Garden of Delete is really nice addition in the domain of songs. I am in love with the title, anyway!

Chad
February 23rd 2020
9:27pm

He did a great job with the soundtrack to Good Time

EasyavkaSeeds
January 28th 2021
1:23am

Scott Dransfield, thank you for Garden of Delete)