Paranoid Cocoon | Under the Radar - Music Magazine
Saturday, November 28th, 2020  

Cotton Jones

Paranoid Cocoon

Suicide Squeeze

Nov 01, 2008 Year End 2008 - Best of 2008 Bookmark and Share


Find It At: Amazon

Michael Nau returns with Paranoid Cocoon, his first full-length as Cotton Jones (formerly The Cotton Jones Basket Ride for a few shorter releases on Quite Scientific and St. Ives). With the help of Whitney McGraw’s gentle voice, Nau trades some of the bright, clean folk of Page France for a comfortable fleece jacket of soft Appalachian psychedelia. It’s a relaxed and confident debut packed with enough reverb, organs, and dreamy sensuality to keep you warm on any windy winter evening. Highpoints include the sleepy “Gone the Bells,” The Doors-influenced “Up a Tree (Went This Heart I Have),” and the six-minute-plus “I Am the Changer.” This release would be a great pick-up for fans of Brightblack Morning Light, Bowerbirds, and The Old Believers. (www.myspace.com/thecottonjonesbasketride)


 

Author rating: 7/10

Rate this album
Average reader rating: 9/10



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.