Smoke/Ashes (Dark Horse) Comic Book Review | Under the Radar - Music Magazine

Smoke/Ashes

Dark Horse

Oct 04, 2013 Issue #47 - September/October 2013 - MGMT Bookmark and Share


Followers of comics writer Alex DeCampi's Twitter will find her occasionally grumbling about her lack of paid work in comics. Her career-sized output coupled with her hobby-sized income is an even deeper injustice when one considers the quality of her work, and Smoke/Ashes may in fact be her best. With a shooter's gallery of artists by her side, including Igor Kordey (New X-Men), Carla Speed McNeil (Finder), and Bill Sienkiewicz (Daredevil), this tale of international espionage is complex, well-wrought, and at least worthy of its own ongoing series, perhaps even a serialized cable drama. Detailed, entertaining and compulsively readable, this graphic novel is highly recommended for fans of Greg Rucka's Queen and Country and the gumshoe-leaning stories of Batman and John Constantine. DC Comics, are you listening? It's time to put DeCampi on one of your books and hook your readers on some true intrigue. (www.darkhorse.com)

Author rating: 8/10

Rate this comic book



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.