The Bridge School Benefit Concerts 25th Anniversary Edition DVD

Studio: Reprise

Nov 29, 2011 Web Exclusive Bookmark and Share


Twenty-five years ago, Pegi Young founded The Bridge School, a non-profit organization dedicated to the education of children with severe speech, language, and physical impairments, in part as a response to the frustrations Pegi and her husband Neil Young had with properly educating their own son, Ben, who suffers from cerebral palsy. Each year, The Bridge School hosts a benefit concert featuring notable musicians playing their songs on acoustic instruments. Artists who have participated over the years include Bruce Springsteen, Pearl Jam, David Bowie, Bob Dylan, Paul McCartney, The Who, Thom Yorke, and Sonic Youth, along with Neil Young, who plays every year.

This anniversary set features two DVDs filled with performances spanning the concerts' 25 years, from Springsteen's sparse version of "Born in the USA," from the concert's first year, to Pearl Jam's gentle, reworked rendition of "Better Man," from 2010. Each performance is introduced by one of the Bridge School students, using a communication device, and the students are seen sitting behind the performers on the stage for each performance. The artists included are diverse, from Fleet Foxes and Devendra Banhart, to Bonnie Raitt and James Taylor. R.E.M.'s "Country Feedback," performed with Neil Young in 1998, is revelatory. Tom Waits is utterly mesmerizing doing "16 Shells From A Thirty-Ought Six" in 1999. And, strangely enough, one of the most engaging performances is from Billy Idol, doing "Rebel Yell" in 2001 and, commendably, interacting with the students throughout his performance (the questionable nature of shouting sexually suggestive lyrics to 10-year-olds notwithstanding).

The performances are largely impressive, but what's best about this three DVD set is its third disc, which includes a documentary about The Bridge School, its mission, and its success in working with these children, as well as a series of artist interviews conducted by Bridge School students using the skills and assistive communication tools they learned at the school. The courage of the Youngs in creating such a meaningful, nurturing, and educational environment for these students and, more strikingly the courage of the students in their accomplishments, is remarkable. This is the story of The Bridge School and it's much greater and more impactful than any musical performance. (bridgeschool.warnerreprise.com

Author rating: 6/10

Rate this DVD
Average reader rating: 8/10



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

Essay Tigers
April 6th 2015
3:27am

The bridge school is going awesome work in the limited time and play vital role for teaching children’s.

Case Mens Watch
May 20th 2015
8:29pm

Each performance is introduced by one of the Bridge School students,commendably, interacting with the students throughout his performance .

essay kings me
July 13th 2015
4:40am

Yeah, perfomance are very interesting made by Bridge School. It’s nice when students practice using the skills they learned at the school.

Corrinne
October 12th 2015
8:16am

To found a non-profit organization dedicated to the education of children with severe speech, language, and physical impairments was such a great idea. And now with this performance Pegi Young is still going on

Clck here
July 29th 2016
11:43pm

Great site and a great topic as well I really get amazed to read this. It’s really good. I like viewing web sites which comprehend the price of delivering the excellent useful resource free of charge.

Click Here
August 16th 2016
4:25am

It’s truly high-quality. I like presentation web spots which realize the cost of delivering the outstanding functional source complimentary of charge. Great location and a huge theme as well I truly acquire startled to study this.

Packagingboxessuppliers.co.uk
September 7th 2016
6:59am

Congratulation on this anniversary . You have written very well and friendly. Thanks for share this blog with me.

Pay someone to do assignment
September 27th 2016
11:14pm

The performance be mostly inspiring, however what’s finest regarding this three DVD deposit be its third compact disk, which include a documentary on the subject, its work, with its victory

do my assignment online
October 3rd 2016
2:39am

It takes a considerable measure of cash to give instructive chances to children who have inability marks. So with regards to paying those assessments supporting specialized curriculum

Taylor Portland
October 17th 2016
2:54am

The execution be for the most part rousing, however what’s finest in regards to this three DVD store be its third conservative circle, which incorporate a narrative on the subject, its work, with its triumph Help With Dissertation.

plumbers dallas
December 2nd 2016
1:15am

The bridge school is your best achievement. You have shared a lot of information. Keep updating such a great type of posting.

Alvina Ash
January 30th 2017
9:34pm

Yeah, perfomance are very interesting made by Bridge School. It’s nice when students practice using the skills they learned at the school.  excellent assignment writing help

disshelpcenter
February 11th 2017
12:55am

Thank you for the update, very nice site.

mba assignment writing help
February 24th 2017
5:41am

I enjoy a couple of from the Information which has been written, and particularly the comments posted I will definitely be visiting again.

EssayAgents Money Homework
March 18th 2017
4:58am

The bridge school is doing a great job and they have my full support. We all came into this world with a purpose. Go for it full force.

British Essay Writers
March 28th 2017
5:19am

This is such a countless means that you are provided that and you give it not here for allowed.

Larry
March 31st 2017
5:47am

Bridge School you are doing a nice job. I do homework for money online http://www.buyresearchpapersforsale.com/

Essay-Inc-UK
April 3rd 2017
11:59pm

One of the best things about this is that, you can make the best efforts to generate the results. Congratulations to everyone for celebrating this anniversary.

mckläder
April 5th 2017
11:33pm

I am really glad to read it and being able to share my thoughts on it. I want to use this opportunity to say that I really love this blog. It is an amazing resource of information for my working. Thank you so much.

buy coursework online
April 13th 2017
12:04am

Yeah, perfomance are very interesting made by Bridge School. It’s nice when students practice using the skills they learned at the school.

manufactured home for sale
April 28th 2017
8:49pm

Great pleasure to know that the Bridge School has hosted a benefit concert featuring notable musicians playing their songs on acoustic instruments! The DVD of the concert will give a second chance to us to see this amazing event once again.

helper
April 30th 2017
12:21pm

I enjoy a couple of from the Information which has been written, and particularly the comments posted I will definitely be visiting again

belly
June 14th 2017
4:40am

NR 503 DeVry Week 6 Evaluation of Epidemiological Problem Paper Latest
Downloading is very simple, you can download this Course here:
https://www.mindsblow.com/product/nr-503-devry-week-6-evaluation-epidemiological-problem-paper-latest/
Or
Contact us at:
(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)
NR 503 DeVry Week 6 Evaluation of Epidemiological Problem Paper Latest
NR 503 DeVry Week 6 Evaluation of Epidemiological Problem Paper Latest
NR503
NR 503 DeVry Week 6 Evaluation of Epidemiological Problem Paper Latest
Purpose
The purpose of this assignment is to
Provide learners with the opportunity to integrate knowledge and skills learned throughout this course
Directly apply principles and knowledge learned in the course to problem solving of population health problems in their own geographic areas.

assignment writer
June 20th 2017
9:33pm

Make academic assignment writing easy and interesting by taking assistance for assignment writing 24/7. Consult the assignment experts and get discount.

Danette
June 23rd 2017
4:43am

Great to know about the 25th anniversary celebration of this Bridge school. It was dedicated to the education of children with severe speech, language and physical impairments. I really appreciate their effort and wish to see this DVD of 25th anniversary celebration.  Charcoal face mask

Write an Essay
July 18th 2017
11:09pm

This commemoration set elements two DVDs loaded with exhibitions spreading over the shows’ 25 years, from Springsteen’s meager variant of “Conceived in the USA,” from the show’s first year, to Pearl Jam’s delicate, revamped version of “Better Man,” from 2010. Every execution is presented by one of the Bridge School understudies, utilizing a specialized gadget, http://www.essaycorp.co.uk/

Essay
August 2nd 2017
2:48am

The exhibitions are to a great extent amazing, yet what’s best about this three DVD set is its third circle, which incorporates a narrative about The Bridge School, its main goal, and its accomplishment in working with these youngsters, and in addition a progression of craftsman interviews directed by Bridge School understudies utilizing the abilities and assistive specialized instruments they learned at the school. http://www.groovyessays.co.uk/

Bruno
August 9th 2017
4:47am

Really glad to know about this 25th anniversary edition DVD that was arranged by the Bridge School. Through this DVD, we have got the overall performance from the school during these 25 years. I wish to see the documentary about this school that was recorded on the third disc.  go to my site

Essay Writers UK
August 21st 2017
11:28pm

Quite simply, the article is relatively the quality factor on this registry associated limitation. I slot in along with your choices and can energetically assume your subsequent overhauls.

Essay
August 30th 2017
12:59am

Hello, My name is graceben connecting with University Essay Writers UK I have planned to write a novel on Paranormal Activity who base on true story.

iPhone 8 release date
September 1st 2017
10:15am

This is very good article. Thanks for sharing.

assignment service
September 5th 2017
3:58am

I like viewing web sites which comprehend the price of delivering the excellent

pawarsharad14587
September 9th 2017
5:26am

.

www.gst.gov.in
September 9th 2017
5:27am

gjghj

coursework writers UK
September 11th 2017
3:00am

Every execution is presented by one of the Bridge School students,commendably, collaborating with the understudies all through his execution.

Essay Writers UK
October 4th 2017
2:45am

I have bought this DVD when I was in college. I remember when I used to play this song we all friend used to dance with each other. It was our cheering environment which I can never forget.

Quality UK Essays
November 20th 2017
11:54pm

Performing for the national Chinese respect society at my college, I interpreted my main song from august race into Chinese and I intend to play guitar and sing. Somewhat apprehensive, my pound is the leader of the general public. Some guidelines?

uk essay writer
November 29th 2017
11:02pm

No doubt, execution is extremely fascinating made by Bridge School. It’s pleasant when understudies work on utilizing the abilities they learned at the school. The extension school is doing great work in the restricted time and assume an indispensable part in instructing children’s.

Jessica
January 5th 2018
10:41pm

This is quite interesting, post.

Click here
January 6th 2018
3:18am

Great music! I loved it.

Chris Greenwalt
March 26th 2018
4:41pm

I wish I could be there in the anniversary. This is because this anniversary set features two DVDs filled with performances spanning the concerts’ 25 years.
https://www.affordable-dissertation.co.uk/

wilsondavidk
May 3rd 2018
2:17am

This anniversary set features two DVDs filled with performances spanning the concerts’ 25 years, from Springsteen’s sparse version of “Born in the USA,” from the concert’s first year, to Pearl Jam’s gentle, reworked rendition of “Better Man,” from 2010. Each performance is introduced by one of the Bridge School students, using a communication device, and the students are seen sitting behind the performers on the stage for each performance

restaurant website
July 6th 2018
5:02am

As i was one of the audiences, i would really say that this thing was really great! I don’t know how to express it. It was so good and everyone in the audience really enjoyed it. Thank you for the performance.

Bulk SMS
July 11th 2018
2:47am

I have the pleasure of reading the article very carefully. I learned this as a fascinating and fascinating message and I think it is very valuable and instructive. I am grateful for their efforts in creating this article.

hire someone to do my essay cheap uk
August 20th 2018
3:16am

the connect school is going wonderful work in the restricted time and assume indispensable part to teach children’s.

download redbox tv
September 3rd 2018
5:15am

best app download for android free

Molly
January 24th 2019
12:41am

https://best-writing-service.net/book-reviews.html is a book review writing service that leaves no one indifferent. The answer is because every essay is outstanding and unique. Need a writer’s help? Then you’re in the right plsce.

Richard Patterson
January 24th 2019
12:52am

The discussion chapter in the dissertation is an essential thing, without in no dissertation can be found. Not all who write this paper knows that it takes 10 percent out of the general size of words in this work. More rules and advices are here https://primeessay.org/dissertation-discussion-help.html

iPad For Conference
January 24th 2019
3:08am

This is an awesome post thanks for the information!

jhonnikolson
February 6th 2019
1:35pm

its nice to be here.keep posting such content

robertjhon
February 12th 2019
2:24am

Thank your for all the enthusiasm to offer such handy information here.

aliguides
February 13th 2019
2:18am

Your post/article is very detailed and insightful yet easy to understand.Thank you for contributing your valuable time over here.

rotator vs navigator
February 13th 2019
3:49am

This was among the best posts from your team it let me learn many new thing.a lot of thanks for giving me such a important information.

best ssd
February 13th 2019
10:23am

The subject matter right here i found became surely powerful to the topic which i was researching for a long term.Much obliged to you so much

shareit apk
February 14th 2019
6:52am

I like viewing posts which comprehend the price of delivering the excellent useful resource free of charg.Keep sharing a lot of posts.

label printing services
February 15th 2019
1:06am

You have written the blog about Trump end Obama. I have political views. But i like your blog.

wireless dog fenec
February 19th 2019
12:57am

i know very useful information from this post.keep posting such content

adults tricycles
February 19th 2019
1:55am

I am impressed by the information that you have on this blog.Keep it up

best wireless dog fence
February 23rd 2019
12:25am

It is especially decent,I finally found great post here

morganclay
February 25th 2019
2:13am

All your diligent work is quite valued. It’s not possible for anyone to stop to respect you. Loads of appreciation

johniwalliam
February 25th 2019
7:14am

Extremely great brief and this post helped me a ton. State thank you I hunting down your certainties.This is very significant,

molanclub
February 25th 2019
10:27pm

Decent to peruse your article! I am anticipating sharing your undertakings and encounters.

jaywatson
February 25th 2019
10:33pm

It is fundamental that we scrutinized blog passage very carefully. I am starting at now done it and find that this post is really shocking.

jaywatton
February 25th 2019
10:43pm

It is fine, in any case assess the data and realities around this right.Waiting For More new Update.thanks

love doll
March 5th 2019
5:32am

Looking to buy the best Sex Doll on the market? Our online site will help you to make a quality purchasing decision. so visit our largest famous online store and get most beautiful attractive sex doll for sex.

Chiropractic Clinic
March 6th 2019
4:39am

Great Post!!!

Massage is one of the best methods to heal the pain. Many times to get a well to deserve massage is really helpful to release tension from your back and cure pain. But, these types of methods are for the short time. Healing Hands Chiropractic Singapore provides the best quality of the massage according to your pain.

pakgang
March 7th 2019
11:30pm

Hello what a splendid post I have gone over. Much thanks and will search for more postings from you.

apkonda
March 8th 2019
12:48am

In this article comprehend the most essential thing, the thing will give you a watchword rich connection an extraordinary valuable site page:

mens watches online
March 8th 2019
3:39am

Thanks for Sharing !!
Mistura online watch store offers branded mens watches online on sale with 100% genuine leather and South American sustainable wood.

handgepäck koffer
March 8th 2019
3:40am

I Appreciated this, Thanks For Sharing !!!

Chris Welch Naativ
March 11th 2019
8:12am

Thanks For Sharing this amazing ones!!!

Chris Welch Naativ
March 11th 2019
8:13am

Thanks for sharing !!

andy david
March 13th 2019
4:59am

this is an amazing post.
http://findbestvacuumforstairs.com/

SPSS Data Analysis Service
March 13th 2019
11:37am

Today was a bad day, but I must say this post has reignited my joy. I am very glad for finding this blog. Thank you for your post.

SOP Editing
March 13th 2019
11:42am

The concert was amazing. You have reminded me of such a great time.

visit iRootapkdl.com
March 22nd 2019
9:40am

visit iRootapkdl.com
iRoot - Download iRoot Apk For Android latest full version, v3.2.4. You can get iRoot for PC to root your device, get the iroot app from this official site.

MiaBee
March 22nd 2019
10:56am

Thank you for the forum and and such interesting ppost. keep doing it in the same way . Really like how you write as I find some specific information useful while working with capstone project.

homedepot survey
March 24th 2019
1:54am

The Homedepot, Inc. or Home Depot is an American home improvement supplies retailing company. The first store of Home Depot was founded in 1978.

John Mike
March 27th 2019
3:05am

Wow, this is nice to see that the college is having 25th anniversary edition.

Ben Campbell
March 28th 2019
2:12am

Writing a <a >response paper</a>can be very difficult and time-consuming-task, not always all the students can complete it on their own. That’s why there is a custom essay service which will be helpful in such situation.

Elly23
April 5th 2019
3:30pm

Founded by Jean Piaget, constructivism emphasizes the importance of the active involvement of learners in constructing knowledge for themselves here https://123helpme.org/articles/argumentative-essay/ . Students are thought to use background knowledge and concepts to assist them in their acquisition of novel information.

roomba 690 vs 890 allofvacuums
April 11th 2019
3:49am

Hi what a mind blowing post I have gone over. Much thanks and will scan for more postings from you.

Sarah Taylor Taylor
April 25th 2019
10:50am

hi,
really nice post. i love to hear more about this from you.
Regards
best mattress for side sleepers