Water From Your Eyes Announce New Album, Share New Song “Bad in the Sun” | Under the Radar Magazine Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Wednesday, May 29th, 2024  

Water From Your Eyes

Water From Your Eyes Announce New Album, Share New Song “Bad in the Sun”

Sep 13, 2019

Water From Your Eyes are the Brooklyn-based duo of Nate Amos and Rachel Brown. They have announced a new album, Somebody Else’s Song, and shared its lead single “Bad in the Sun.” Somebody Else’s Song is due out October 25 via Exploding In Sound. It’s the band’s first real “New York album” as they were previously based in Chicago. “Bad in the Sun” gets locked in a cool electronic rock groove and doesn’t let go for six minutes. Listen to it below, followed by the album’s tracklist and the band’s tour dates.

The band had this to say about the song in a press release: “A celebration of bad dreams. The electronic version of ‘Somebody Else’s Song,’ musically over the top, Vocoders, auto-tune (subtle I guess), midi guitars, made sometime in mid 2018 I think, took about a month. In some ways a reflection of ‘Break’ in terms of length and composition (the two serve as the pillars of album), but ultimately a friendlier and more approachable song. It’s definitely the closest thing to older WFYE material on the album, but there are also severe differences in approach to arrangement and pacing. Meant to be a sort of half-closer and set an exciting/ecstatic mood to be ripped down by ‘Look Again.’”

Somebody Else’s Song Tracklist:

01 “Somebody Else’s Song”
02 “Break”
03 “No Better Now”
04 “Look”
05 “Adeleine”
06 “This Is Slow”
07 “Bad In The Sun”
08 “Look Again”

Water From Your Eyes Tour Dates:

09/19 - Brooklyn, NY @ Baby’s All Right (w/ Son Step & Mal Devisa)
09/28 - Brooklyn, NY @ Hartstop (w/ Color Tongue & more)
11/07 - Brooklyn, NY @ Rubalud (release show w/ Palberta and Sweet Baby Jesus)