Animal Collective Announces New Album, Shares “FloriDada” | Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Monday, July 15th, 2024  

Animal Collective Announces New Album, Shares “FloriDada”

Painting With Due Out February 19, 2016 via Domino

Nov 30, 2015 Animal Collective Bookmark and Share

Animal Collective have announced a new album and shared its first single. Painting With is due out February 19, 2016 via Domino. Below you can stream the album’s first single, “FloriDada.” John Cale and Colin Stetson guest on the album.

Painting With was recorded as a trio: Dave Portner (Avey Tare), Noah Lennox (Panda Bear), and Brian Weitz (Geologist). The three began trading demos in early 2015 and then came together in the spring in Ashville and began “exploring the songs together,” according to a press release. The album was recorded at the EastWest Studios in Hollywood. There will be three separate album covers, each featuring a portrait of a different member of the band as painted by Brian DeGraw of Gang Gang Dance. Missing from the lineup this time is Josh Dibb (aka Deakin), who sat out 2009’s Merriweather Post Pavilion but returned for 2012’s Centipede Hz.

The deluxe LP version of the album comes with a 7-inch featuring two exclusive non-album tracks and a turntable slipmat that “animates when activated in part with a strobe light.” The album was previewed last week when it was played over the speakers at the Baltimore-Washington International Airport.

Below is “FloriDada,” followed by the album’s tracklist. Above are the three album covers.

Painting With Tracklist:

1. FloriDada
2. Hocus Pocus
3. Vertical
4. Lying In The Grass
5. The Burglars
6. Natural Selection
7. Bagels In Kiev
8. On Delay
9. Spilling Guts
10. Summing The Wretch
11. Golden Gal
12. Recycling


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.