Austra Announce New Album, Share “Utopia” Video | Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Sunday, July 14th, 2024  

Austra Announce New Album, Share “Utopia” Video

Future Politics Due Out January 20, 2017 via Domino

Oct 19, 2016 Austra Photography by Renata Raksha Bookmark and Share

Austra have announced a new album and shared a video for its first single, “Utopia.” Future Politics is due out January 20, 2017 via Domino. Below is the video for “Utopia,” followed by the album’s tracklist and cover art.

Future Politics is Austra’s third album is partly inspired by frontwoman Katie Stelmanis’ time living in Montreal and Mexico City. A press release says the album “calls for radical hope: ‘a commitment to replace the approaching dystopia.’” The press release also cites “European club culture” as an inspiration, specifically “Objekt, Peter Van Hoesen, Lena Willikens, and ‘90s legends like Massive Attack; in all, artists who understand the dancefloor as a source of radical ideas and radical joy.”

THAT GO directed the video and had this to say in the press release: “Katie came into the video project with a lot of ideas about the future. We discussed everything from food trends to Star Trek: The Next Generation. The video is more near-future than distant-future, with recognizable technology and modern protein sources.”

Future Politics Tracklist:

01 “We Were Alive”
02 “Future Politics”
03 “Utopia”
04 “I’m A Monster”
05 “I Love You More Than You Love Yourself”
06 “Angel In Your Eye”
07 “Freepower”
08 “Gaia”
09 “Beyond A Mortal”
10 “Deep Thought”
11 “43”


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.