“Battle Hymns” Charity Protest Comp Features Stephen Malkmus, Carl Newman, and Carrie Brownstein | Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Sunday, May 19th, 2024  

“Battle Hymns” Charity Protest Comp Features Stephen Malkmus, Carl Newman, and Carrie Brownstein

To Benefit Planned Parenthood, the ACLU, and 350.org

Jan 20, 2017 Pavement Bookmark and Share

Battle Hymns is a new protest compilation released today timed to President-Elect Donald Trump’s inauguration. Sam Coomes and Janet Weiss of Quasi put it together. It features unreleased music by Stephen Malkmus (Pavement), Carl Newman (The New Pornographers), Doug Martsch (Built to Spill), Carrie Brownstein (Sleater-Kinney), Mac McCaughan (Superchunk), Peter Buck (R.E.M.), Corin Tucker (Sleater-Kinney), Quasi, Cristina Martinez, Jon Spencer, Mickey Finn, Ash Bowie, Katie Harkin, Sean Croghan, Drew Grow, Mary Timony, Scott McCaughey, Bill Rieflin, Kurt Bloch, Kathy Foster, and Rebecca Gates. The album is available now at www.quasiband.com in a pay-what-you-want situation, with all proceeds equally divided between Planned Parenthood, the ACLU, and 350.org. Quasi acted as the backing band on many of the songs. The full tracklist is below. A press release says: “Battle Hymns is a compilation album created in direct response to the current political situation in the U.S.A - it is a protest record! Released digitally on inauguration day in opposition to the incoming administration.”

Battle Hymns Tracklist:

1. Love Always (Kathy Foster) - “We Won’t Go Back”
2. Mac McCaughan - “Happy New Year (Prince Can’t Die Again)”
3. Boss Hog - “Save Our Soul”
4. Stephen Malkmus - “Midnight Cruisers”
5. Drew Grow - “Time Bomb”
6. MEDS (Carrie Brownstein and Katie Harkin) - “No More Fizz”
7. Mary Timony - “Fight The Hate”
8. Quasi - “Ballad of Donald Duck & Elmer Fudd”
9. Libraness (Ash Bowie) - “A Kind of Survival”
10. Filthy Friends (Corin Tucker, Peter Buck, Scott McCaughey, Kurt Bloch, Bill Rieflin) - “Love In The Time of Resistance”
11. Carl Newman - “Our Nero”
12. Rebecca Gates - “NO DIVISION”
13. Doug Martsch - “Fuck 2016”
14. Sean Croghan - “Spider House”


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.