Bloc Party’s Kele Okereke Announces New Solo Album, Shares “Streets Been Talkin’” | Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Sunday, June 16th, 2024  

Bloc Party’s Kele Okereke Announces New Solo Album, Shares “Streets Been Talkin’”

Fatherland Due Out October 6 via BMG

Jul 05, 2017 Bloc Party Photography by Rachael Wright Bookmark and Share

Find It At: {article-find} {name} {/article-find}

Back in May, Bloc Party frontman Kele Okereke shared a new solo song, “Yemaya.” Now, as Pitchfork reports, he has announced a new solo album, Fatherland, and shared another new song from it, “Streets Been Talkin’.” Fatherland is due out October 6 via BMG. Below is “Streets Been Talkin’,” followed by the album’s tracklist and cover art.

Okereke has previously released two solo albums under his first name only (the last one being 2014’s Trick), so this is his first album going by his full name. Fatherland features two special guests: Years and Years’ Olly Alexander guests on “Grounds for Resentment” and Corinne Bailey Rae is featured on “Versions of Us.”

Okereke describes “Streets Been Talkin’” as a “bittersweet ode to romance and the passing of time.”

Bloc Party released a new album, HYMNS, in 2016 via Infectious Music/BMG/Vagrant.

Fatherland Tracklist:

01 Overture
02 Streets Been Talking
03 You Keep On Whispering His Name
04 Capers
05 Grounds For Resentment [ft. Olly Alexander]
06 Yemaya
07 Do U Right
08 Versions Of Us [ft. Corinne Bailey Rae]
09 Portrait
10 Road To Ibadan
11 Savannah
12 The New Year Party
13 Royal Reign

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.