Blood Orange Releases New Album Early, Shares “Augustine” Video | Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Wednesday, May 22nd, 2024  

Blood Orange Releases New Album Early, Shares “Augustine” Video

Freetown Sound Out Now via Domino; Features Carly Rae Jepsen, Debbie Harry, Kindness, Empress Of, and More

Jun 28, 2016 Blood Orange Bookmark and Share

Freetown Sound, the new album by Blood Orange (aka Devonté Hynes), was due out this Friday, July 1, but last night he released the album digitally a few days early and now he’s shared the video for “Augustine.” It features Hynes performing the song with friends in parks, on rooftops, and elsewhere. Both watch the video and stream the album below.

Freetown Sound contains 17 tracks and is the follow-up to 2013’s Cupid Deluxe. The CD and LP version of the album is out a little later, on August 19. The deluxe edition of the album comes with a double-sided 24x36 poster and a bonus 10-inch with two additional non-album tracks, “Do You See My Skin Through the Flames” and “Sandra’s Smile.” The album features such guests as Nelly Furtado, Carly Rae Jepsen, BEA1991, Debbie Harry, Adam Bainbridge (a.k.a. Kindness), Empress Of, Ian Isiah, Kelsey Lu, Jason Arce, Ava Raiin, Bryndon Cook (a.k.a. Starchild) and Patrick Wimberly, and Aaron Maine (a.k.a. Porches).

Freetown Sound Tracklist:

01. By Ourselves
02. Augustine
03. Chance
04. Best To You
05. With Him
06. E.V.P.
07. Love Ya
08. But You
09. Desirée
10. Hands Up
11. Hadron Collider
12. Squash Squash
13. Juicy 1-4
14. Better Than Me
15. Thank You
16. I Know
17. Better Numb

Blood Orange Tour Dates:

Thurs June 30 || Roskilde || Copenhagen, DE
Sat July 2 || Hyde Park || London, UK
Tues July 5 || Koko || London, UK
Thurs July 7 || Festival Moderno, Circolo Magnolia || Milan, IT
Sat July 9 || Ruisrock || Turku, FI
Sat July 16 || Pitchfork Music Festival, Union Park || Chicago, IL
Sat July 23 || Panorama Festival, Randall Island || New York, NY
Sat Aug 27 || Greek Theater ||| Berkeley, CA
Sun Aug 28 || FYF || Los Angeles, CA


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.