Broken Social Scene Announce New Album for Summer Release | Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Monday, July 15th, 2024  

Broken Social Scene Announce New Album for Summer Release

Hug of Thunder Due Out July 7 via Arts & Crafts/City Slang

May 08, 2017 Broken Social Scene Bookmark and Share

Broken Social Scene premiered a new song, “Halfway Home,” in March and the next day the band stopped by The Late Show with Stephen Colbert to perform the new single. Now the band’s new album has been announced. It’s entitled Hug of Thunder and is due out July 7 via Arts & Crafts and City Slang. The album is expected to feature longtime Broken Social Scene collaborators/members Feist, Metric’s Emily Haines and James Shaw, and Stars’ Amy Milan and Evan Cranley. Below is the tracklist and above is the cover art. Pitchfork and Stereogum both reported the news and Broken Social Scene’s publicist confirmed it to Under the Radar.

Hug of Thunder Tracklist:

01 Sol Luna
02 Halfway Home
03 Protest Song
04 Skyline
05 Stay Happy
06 Vanity Pail Kids
07 Hug of Thunder
08 Towers and Masons
09 Victim Lover
10 Please Take Me With You
11 Gonna Get Better
12 Mouth Guards of the Apocalypse

Broken Social Scene Tour Dates:

05-23-17 Manchester, United Kingdom - Albert Hall
05-24-17 London, United Kingdom - Brixton Academy
05-26-17 Neustrelitz, Germany - Immergut Festival
05-28-17 Antwerp, Belgium - Trix Club
05-29-17 Amsterdam, Netherlands - Paradiso
05-30-17 Paris, France - Alhambra
06-01-17 Barcelona, Spain - Primavera Sound
06-03-17 Toronto, Ontario - Field Trip
06-24-17 Pasadena, CA - Arroyo Seco Weekend
08-05-17 Montreal, Quebec - Osheaga

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.