Choir of Young Believers Announce New Album, “Grasque,” Share Video for “Jeg Ser Dig” | Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Friday, July 19th, 2024  

Choir of Young Believers Announce New Album, “Grasque,” Share Video for “Jeg Ser Dig”

Grasque Due Out February 19, 2016 via Ghostly International

Nov 02, 2015 Choir of Young Believers Bookmark and Share

Denmark’s Choir of Young Believers have announced a new album, the follow-up to 2012’s criminally under-heard and underappreciated second album, Rhine Gold. Grasque is due out February 19, 2016 via Ghostly International. Way back in May the band shared “Face Melting,” which appears on the album and which we premiered the video for, and now they have shared a video for “Jeg Ser Dig,” which you can watch below.

Choir of Young Believers initially started out as a solo endeavor for Jannis Noya Makrigiannis, but grew to quite a collective for Rhine Gold. For their third album it’s returned to more of a solo affair. Makrigiannis recorded the album with producer Aske Zidore, who produced Rhine Gold. A press release hints that the album is more pop in nature and mentions Sade, electronic music, ‘80s and ‘90s Danish pop, modern hip-hop, R&B, techno, and other influences.

“I must admit, one of the things I worried about was ‘What will people think?’” Makrigiannis says about the album and his new direction in a press release. “With almost all of these songs, I had been in doubt. Some, I felt, were too poppy, others too experimental - some didn’t even feel like songs, but more like trips, or feelings. Some even had Danish and Greek lyrics. But now, it’s all Choir of Young Believers to me, and it feels great to have pushed the walls around the band, giving it a bit more space. It’s weird for me to think about all that doubt - ‘Could I do this? Could I do that?’ I mean, it’s my fucking band. I can do what I want with it. Right?”

Below check out the “Jeg Ser Dig” video, which features Makrigiannis singing the song on a beach, followed by the album’s tracklist, some upcoming tour dates, and the album’s cover art.

Grasque Tracklist:

01. Olimpiyskiy
02. Serious Lover
03. Vaserne
04. Face Melting
05. Græske
06. Jeg Ser Dig
07. Cloud Nine
08. The Whirlpool Enigma
09. Perfect Estocada
10. Salvatore
11. Gamma Moth
12. Does It Look As If I Care

Choir of Young Believers Tour Dates:

11.12 Aalborg, Denmark @ Studenterhuset
11.13 Aarhus, Denmark @ Atlas
11.14 Odense, Denmark @ Studenterhuset
11.20 Copenhagen, Denmark @ Jazzhouse
11.24 Copenhagen, Denmark @ Jazzhouse
04.05 Zurich, Switzerland @ Ziegel Oh Lac @ Rote Fabrik
04.06 Paris, France @ Pop Up Du Label
04.08 London, UK @ Oslo
04.09 Brussels, Belgium @ Witloof Bar Botanique
04.10 Amsterdam, Netherlands @ Paradiso
04.11 Bielefeld, Germany @ Forum
04.12 Hamburg, Germany @ Aalhaus
04.13 Berlin, Germany @ Kantine am Berghain
04.22 Helsinki, Finland @ Kuudes Linja


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.