Conor Oberst Announces New Album, Shares “Napalm” and Video for “A Little Uncanny” | Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Friday, May 24th, 2024  

Conor Oberst Announces New Album, Shares “Napalm” and Video for “A Little Uncanny”

Salutations Due Out March 17 via Nonesuch, Also Stream Another Song - "Tachycardia"

Jan 18, 2017 Conor Oberst Bookmark and Share

Find It At: {article-find} {name} {/article-find}

Conor Oberst of Bright Eyes released a new solo acoustic album, Ruminations, last fall via Nonesuch. Now he has announced a new companion album, Salutations, due out March 17, also via Nonesuch. It includes full-band versions of all of Ruminations’ 10 tracks, as well as seven new songs. The album features The Felice Brothers, Jim James, M. Ward, and others. Oberst has shared a video for Salutations’ version of “A Little Uncanny,” which you can watch below, as well as another track from the album, “Napalm,” which can stream below too. There’s another song, “Tachycardia,” up on Apple Music that’s below as well. Also below is the album’s tracklist and cover art, as well as Oberst’s upcoming tour dates.

Salutations was recorded at Malibu’s Shangri-la Studios and at Five Star Studios in Echo Park, Los Angeles. The Felice Brothers were Oberst’s backing band, along with legendary drummer Jim Keltner (who has worked with Neil Young, John Lennon, George Harrison, Bob Dylan, and others). Keltner co-produced the album with Oberst and it was engineered by Oberst’s longtime collaborator Andy LeMaster. Jim James, Blake Mills, Maria Taylor, M. Ward, Gillian Welch, Gus Seyffert, Pearl Charles, Nathaniel Walcott, and Jonathan Wilson all guest on the album. Josh Rawson of The Felice Brothers directed the “A Little Uncanny” video, which features actors playing Oberst at different stages in his life, including in the future.

Oberst had this to say about the album in a press release: “Jim [Keltner] was really the captain of the ship and the spiritual leader of the project. We leaned heavy on his fifty-plus years of musical insight to get us to where we needed to be. He brought such depth and dignity to the proceedings that made everyone else involved rise to the occasion. It was a true stroke of luck that he got involved when he did.”

Oberst has also announced some tour dates, with The Felice Brothers as his backing band. One dollar from every ticket sold will benefit Planned Parenthood, via Plus 1. The March dates go on sale January 21 at noon EST and the May and July dates go on sale January 27 at noon EST.

Salutations Tracklist:

01 Too Late to Fixate
02 Gossamer Thin
03 Overdue
04 Afterthought
05 Next of Kin
06 Napalm
07 Mamah Borthwick (A Sketch)
08 Till St. Dymphna Kicks Us Out
09 Barbary Coast (Later)
10 Tachycardia
11 Empty Hotel by the Sea
12 Anytime Soon
13 Counting Sheep
14 Rain Follows the Plow
15 You All Loved Him Once
16 A Little Uncanny
17 Salutations

Conor Oberst Tour Dates:


27 Sydney, AUS @ Sydney Opera House


9 Omaha, NE @ The Waiting Room Lounge
10 Kansas City, MO @ Madrid Theater
11 Memphis, TN @ Minglewood Hall
12 Tulsa, OK @ Cain’s Ballroom
14 San Antonio, TX @ Paper Tiger
16 Spicewood, TX @ Luck Reunion
17 Houston, TX @ Warehouse Live
18 New Orleans, LA @ The Civic Theatre
19 Macon, GA @ Cox Capitol Theatre
21 Asheville, NC @ The Orange Peel
22 Chattanooga, TN @ Track 29
23 Atlanta, GA @ Variety Playhouse
24 McMinnville, TN @ Bluegrass Underground
25 St Louis, MO @ The Pageant
26 Iowa City, IA @ The Englert Theater


12 Oakland, CA @ The Fox
13 Los Angeles, CA @ The Greek Theater
19 Austin, TX @ ACL Live at The Moody Theater


14-16 Louisville, KY @ Forecastle Festival
20 Brooklyn, NY @ Celebrate Brooklyn
21 Boston, MA @ The House of Blues


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.