Deerhoof Announce New Album, Share “I Will Spite Survive” Feat. Wye Oak’s Jenn Wasner | Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Sunday, July 14th, 2024  

Deerhoof Announce New Album, Share “I Will Spite Survive” Feat. Wye Oak’s Jenn Wasner

Mountain Moves Due Out September 8 via Joyful Noise, Album Also Features Læticia Sadier and Juana Molina

Jun 28, 2017 Wye Oak Bookmark and Share

Deerhoof have announced a new album, Mountain Moves, and shared its first single, “I Will Spite Survive” (which features Jenn Wasner of Wye Oak and Flock of Dimes). The album is due out September 8 via Joyful Noise and also features Juana Molina and Stereolab’s Læticia Sadier, among others. Below is “I Will Spite Survive,” followed by the album’s tracklist and cover art, as well as their upcoming tour dates.

Mountain Moves also features guest appearances from Awkwafina, Xenia Rubinos, and Matana Roberts. The 15-song album features 12 originals and three covers of songs by Bob Marley, The Staple Singers, and Violeta Parra.

The press release includes a new bio written by Kurt B. Reighley that describes the album as such: “If Mountain Moves were a movie, it would be a double feature, Journey to the Center of the Deerhoof and Escape from Planet Deerhoof, shown side-by-side simultaneously. The record epitomizes the band at its very best, exploring new realms between the poles of independence and invention. It also serves as a welcoming point of entry for new listeners outside Deerhoof’s traditional orbit, an opportunity to bring even more voices into the communal conversation.”

Mountain Moves Tracklist:

01. Slow Motion Detonation (ft. Juana Molina)
02. Con Sordino
03. I Will Spite Survive (ft. Jenn Wasner)
04. Come Down Here and Say That (ft. Lætitia Sadier)
05. Gracias a la Vida (Violeta Parra cover)
06. Begin Countdown
07. Your Dystopic Creation Doesn’t Fear You (ft. Awkwafina)
08. Ay That’s Me
09. Palace of the Governors
10. Singalong Junk (ft. Xenia Rubinos)
11. Mountain Moves (ft. Matana Roberts)
12. Freedom Highway (The Staple Singers cover)
13. Sea Moves (ft. Chad Popple & Devin Hoff)
14. Kokoye
15. Small Axe (Bob Marley cover)

Deerhoof Tour Dates:

06/28 - Milwaukee, WI @ SummerFest 2017
06/29 - Madison, WI @ High Noon Saloon
06/30 - Chicago, IL @ United Center *
07/01 - Chicago, IL @ United Center *
07/02 - Columbus, OH @ Ace of Cups
07/03- Cincinnati, OH @ Urban Artifact
08/18 - Sudbury, ON @ The Grand Theatre
08/19 - Ottawa, ON @ Arboretum Fest 2017
08/20 - Toronto, ON @ Wavelength Music Festival
08/25 - Praha, CZ @ Underdogs’ Ballroom & Bar
08/26 - Storkow, DE @ Alinæ Lumr Festival
08/27 - Hamburg, DE @ Kampnagel Sommerfest
08/28 - Darmstadt, DE @ Oetinger Villa
08/30 - Opwijk, BE @ Nosta
08/31 - Nijmegen, NL @ Doornroosje
09/02 - Aarhus, DK @ UJazz Festival
09/03 - Dorset, UK @ End of the Road Festival
09/04 - London, UK @ Village Underground
09/05 - Ramsgate, UK @ Ramsgate Music Hall - sold out

* Supporting Red Hot Chili Peppers

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.