Dirty Projectors Announce Fifth and Final EP of 2020, Share New Song “Searching Spirit” | Under the Radar Magazine Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Thursday, February 29th, 2024  

Dirty Projectors Announce Fifth and Final EP of 2020, Share New Song “Searching Spirit”

Ring Road EP and 5EPs Album Both Due Out November 20 via Domino

Oct 27, 2020 Photography by Jason Frank Rothenberg Dirty Projectors
Bookmark and Share

Dirty Projectors previously announced their intentions to release five EPs this year and now they have announced their fifth and final EP of 2020, Ring Road, and shared a new song from it, “Searching Spirit,” via a lyric video. Ring Road is due out November 20 via Domino. Check out “Searching Spirit” below, followed by the EP’s tracklist and cover art.

Also on November 20 the band are releasing a 20-song anthology that collects all the EPs, the fittingly titled 5EPs, via Domino.

Each EP has been highlighting a different vocalist from the band, although Ring Road features all the vocalists. The band’s current lineup is frontman Dave Longstreth, Maia Friedman, Felicia Douglass, Kristin Slipp, and Mike Johnson.

In June, the band released the EP Flight Tower. Previously the band shared Flight Tower songs “Inner World”which was one of Songs of the Week—and “Lose Your Love,” via a video for the track. Flight Tower was the second EP in the series, the first one, Windows Open, was released in March. Previously we shared two songs from Windows Open: “Overlord,” a new song the band shared in February via a video for the track, and “Search For Life,” shared via a lyric video in March. The third EP in the series, Super João, was released in September and preceeded by the single Holy Mackerel,” shared via a video. The fourth EP in the series, Earth Crisis, as well as an accompaning short film by Encyclopedia Pictura, was surprise released in October.

In July the band did a Tiny Desk (Home) Concert for NPR Music. In a five-way split screen the band performed four singles: “Lose Your Love,” “Overlord,” “Inner World,” and “Search For Life.” Then in October they shared a funky remix of “Lose Your Love” by Canadian electro funk duo Chromeo.

Dirty Projectors’ last album was 2018’s Lamp Lit Prose.

Ring Road Tracklist:

1. Por Qué No
2. Searching Spirit
3. No Studying
4. My Possession

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.