Django Django Officially Announce New Album and Share Video for New Song “Tic Tac Toe” | Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Wednesday, May 29th, 2024  

Django Django Officially Announce New Album and Share Video for New Song “Tic Tac Toe”

Marble Skies Due Out January 26 via Ribbon Music

Oct 10, 2017 Django Django Bookmark and Share

Find It At: {article-find} {name} {/article-find}

Back in August Django Django previously kinda announced their third album, Marble Skies, via an article in the British music magazine Mojo, which the band shared on Instagram. But now they have officially announced the album and shared its first single, “Tic Tac Toe,” via a video for the song. Marble Skies is due out January 26 via Ribbon Music.

John Maclean (the brother of Django Django’s producer/drummer David Maclean, who also used to be in The Beta Band directed the 2015 feature film Slow West starring Michael Fassbender) directed the video, which features a speeded up trip to a seaside town, including a ride on a ghost train that turns all too real. It all starts because the band is out of milk. Watch it below, followed by the album’s tracklist and cover art.

John Maclean had this to say about the “Tic Tac Toe” video: “The film could be about the fading era of the beach arcades, time moving too fast, love and games, horror and happiness but it is actually about a man who needs to go buy a pint of milk to make a cup of tea.”

In late 2016 three-fourths of Django Django-all except David Maclean, so Vincent Neff (vocalist/guitarist), Jimmy Dixon (bass), and Tommy Grace (synths)-spent 10 days at Urchin Studios in Tottenham, London with Metronomy’s drummer, Anna Prior, to “experiment with new material,” which was then sent to Maclean in Scotland to play around with. Then the full band later entered a small London studio to formally record the album.

The article in Mojo also said that the album features Slow Club’s Rebecca Taylor singing lead vocals on “Surface to Air” and that Metronomy’s Anna Prior filled in for drummer/producer David Maclean while he took a break from the band for three months due to exhaustion and “unspecified personal problems.” Miami Vice composer Jan Hammer is also featured, kind of. Keyboardist Tommy Grace re-performed a piano part from “The Seventh Day” (from Hammer’s 1975 album First Seven Days). Hammer objected, saying Grace hadn’t played it correctly, but eventually relented.

Marble Skies is the follow-up to the band’s 2015 sophomore album, Born Under Saturn, and their 2012-released Mercury Prize-nominated self-titled debut.

Read our 2012 interview with Django Django and our 2015 interview with the band.

Marble Skies Tracklist:

1. Marble Skies
2. Surface To Air
3. Champagne
4. Tic Tac Toe
5. Further
6. Sundials
7. Beam Me Up
8. In Your Beat
9. Real Gone
10. Fountains

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.