Field Music Announce New Album and Tour, Share Album Teaser Trailer | Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Tuesday, May 28th, 2024  

Field Music Announce New Album and Tour, Share Album Teaser Trailer

Open Here Due Out February 2, 2018 via Memphis Industries

Nov 07, 2017 Field Music Bookmark and Share

Find It At: {article-find} {name} {/article-find}

Britain’s Field Music (anchored by brothers Peter and David Brewis) have announced a new album, Open Here, and shared a teaser trailer for the album featuring new music. They have also announced some U.K. tour dates. Open Here is due out February 2, 2018 via Memphis Industries. Below is the trailer, followed by the album’s tracklist and cover art, as well as the band’s tour dates.

Open Here is the follow-up to Commontime, which was released this past February 5 via Memphis Industries (so Open Here comes out almost exactly a year later). “Where Commontime felt like a distillation of all of the elements that make up Field Music, this feels like an expansion,” says David Brewis in a press release, “as if we’re pushing in every direction at once to see how far we can go.”

Open Here was recorded at the band’s own studio in Sunderland and also features the following musicians: Sarah Hayes on flute and piccolo, Liz Corney (Cornshed Sisters) on vocals, Pete Fraser on saxophone, Simon Dennis on trumpet and flugelhorn, and a string quartet of Ed Cross, Jo Montgomery, Chrissie Slater, and Ele Leckie. A press release describes the album as such: “The result is a record that is bigger in scale, and grander than anything Field Music have done before. A lush and imaginative release that fits neatly into the lineage of late ‘70s and early ‘80s pop experimentalists like Godley & Creme, XTC and Todd Rundgren, while applying a sonic palette, production aesthetic and worldview that is distinctly forward looking.”

Open Here Tracklist:

1. Time In Joy
2. Count It Up
3. Front of House
4. Share a Pillow
5. Open Here
6. Goodbye to the Country
7. Checking On a Message
8. No King No Princess
9. Cameraman
10. Daylight Saving
11. Find a Way to Keep Me

Field Music Tour Dates:

02 Feb, Newcastle, Northern Stage
03 Feb, Newcastle, Northern Stage - Matinee Show
03 Feb, Newcastle, Northern Stage
08 Mar, Brighton, Komedia
09 Mar, Bristol, The Lantern
10 Mar, Southampton, Engine Rooms
11 Mar, Exeter, Phoenix
15 Mar, Birmingham, O2 Institute 2
16 Mar, Manchester, Gorilla
17 Mar, Glasgow, Saint Luke’s
22 Mar, Liverpool, Arts Club
23 Mar, Sheffield, Foundry
24 Mar, Norwich, The Waterfront
25 May, London, Barbican w/ the Open Here Orchestra

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.