Field Music Share New Song About Co-Sleeping with Your Kid - "Share a Pillow" | Under The Radar Magazine Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Saturday, October 23rd, 2021  

Field Music Share New Song About Co-Sleeping with Your Kid - “Share a Pillow”

Open Here Due Out February 2 via Memphis Industries

Jan 24, 2018 Field Music
Bookmark and Share

Find It At: {article-find} {name} {/article-find}

Britain’s Field Music (anchored by brothers Peter and David Brewis) are releasing a new album, Open Here, on February 2 via Memphis Industries. Previously they shared a teaser trailer video for the album and its first full single “Count It Up,” which was followed by another song from the album, the six-minute flute-inflected “Time in Joy” (which was one of our Songs of the Week, as “Count It Up” would’ve been if we’d done a Songs of the Week the week it was released). Now the band has shared the album’s third and final single, the three-minute long “Share a Pillow.” Listen below, followed by the band’s upcoming tour dates.

Peter Brewis had this to say about “Share a Pillow” in a press release: “This one was inspired by my son creeping into my bed during the night - and him and I having to have a talk about why he needs to be in his own bed. I’d say ‘There’s no room / You have your own bed etc.’ And, he’d often reply with, ‘it’s fine dad, we can share a pillow,’ ‘I’m lonely in my room,’ ‘it’s too late to go back to bed.’ I thought it could come across in a few different ways so I just wrote some of this stuff down without being specific with what it was about…and set then it to the ‘Uptown Girl’ drum beat!”

Open Here is the follow-up to Commontime, which was released in 2016 via Memphis Industries. “Where Commontime felt like a distillation of all of the elements that make up Field Music, this feels like an expansion,” said David Brewis in a previous press release, “as if we’re pushing in every direction at once to see how far we can go.”

Open Here was recorded at the band’s own studio in Sunderland and also features the following musicians: Sarah Hayes on flute and piccolo, Liz Corney (Cornshed Sisters) on vocals, Pete Fraser on saxophone, Simon Dennis on trumpet and flugelhorn, and a string quartet of Ed Cross, Jo Montgomery, Chrissie Slater, and Ele Leckie. A previous press release described the album as such: “The result is a record that is bigger in scale, and grander than anything Field Music have done before. A lush and imaginative release that fits neatly into the lineage of late ‘70s and early ‘80s pop experimentalists like Godley & Creme, XTC and Todd Rundgren, while applying a sonic palette, production aesthetic and worldview that is distinctly forward looking.”

Field Music Tour Dates:

02 Feb, Newcastle, Northern Stage
03 Feb, Newcastle, Northern Stage - Matinee Show
03 Feb, Newcastle, Northern Stage
05 Feb - Rough Trade East, London
06 Feb - Rough Trade Bristol
07 Feb - Rough Trade Nottingham
08 Mar, Brighton, Komedia
09 Feb - Resident Records, Brighton
09 Mar, Bristol, The Lantern
10 Mar, Southampton, Engine Rooms
11 Mar, Exeter, Phoenix
15 Mar, Birmingham, O2 Institute 2
16 Mar, Manchester, Gorilla
17 Mar, Glasgow, Saint Luke’s
22 Mar, Liverpool, Arts Club
23 Mar, Sheffield, Foundry
24 Mar, Norwich, The Waterfront
05 Apr, Antwerp, Trix
06 Apr, Amsterdam, Melkweg
07 Apr, Paris, Flow
25 May, London, Barbican w/ the Open Here Orchestra

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.