Fleet Foxes Announce New Album and More Shows, Share Nine-Minute Long “Third of May / Ōdaigahara” | Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Tuesday, May 28th, 2024  

Fleet Foxes Announce New Album and More Shows, Share Nine-Minute Long “Third of May / Ōdaigahara”

Crack-Up Due Out June 16 via Nonesuch

Mar 07, 2017 Fleet Foxes Photography by Shawn Brackbill Bookmark and Share

Find It At: {article-find} {name} {/article-find}

Fleet Foxes have announced a new album, Crack-Up, and shared its first single, the near nine-minute long “Third of May / Ōdaigahara.” Crack-Up is due out on June 16 via their new label, Nonesuch (previously they were on Sub Pop). The band have also announced some more North American shows, some which include Beach House or Animal Collective. Below is the lyric video for “Third of May / Ōdaigahara,” followed by the album’s tracklist and cover art and the band’s full list of tour dates.

Crack-Up is the band’s third album, the long-awaited follow-up to 2011’s Helplessness Blues. Frontman Robin Pecknold wrote all of the album’s 11 songs and co-produced it with his bandmate (and childhood friend) Skyler Skjelset. The album was recorded from July 2016 to January 2017 at various studios around America: Electric Lady Studios, Sear Sound, The Void, Rare Book Room, Avast, and The Unknown. Phil Ek mixed the album at Sear Sound and Greg Calbi mastered it at Sterling Sound. Sean Pecknold and Adi Goodrich directed the lyric video for “Third of May / Ōdaigahara” and Crack-Up‘s artwork was designed by Hiroshi Hamaya. Josh Tillman was in the band in the Helplessness Blues era but had long since left to focus on his Father John Misty project. The current Fleet Foxes lineup is Robin Pecknold (vocals, multi-instrumentalist), Skyler Skjelset (multi-instrumentalist, vocals), Casey Wescott (multi-instrumentalist, vocals), Christian Wargo (multi-instrumentalist, vocals), and Morgan Henderson (multi-instrumentalist).

Pecknold also recently shared a new Spotify playlist of songs that influenced him and the band when recording the new album and it included songs by Radiohead, Duke Ellington, The Velvet Underground, Curtis Mayfield, Minnie Riperton, Karen Dalton, and more.

Crack-Up Tracklist:

1. I Am All That I Need / Arroyo Seco / Thumbprint Scar
2. Cassius, -
3. - Naiads, Cassadies
4. Kept Woman
5. Third of May / Ōdaigahara
6. If You Need To, Keep Time on Me
7. Mearcstapa
8. On Another Ocean (January / June)
9. Fool’s Errand
10. I Should See Memphis
11. Crack-Up

Fleet Foxes Tour Dates:

May 26 | Sydney, Australia at Sydney Opera House
May 27 | Sydney, Australia at Sydney Opera House
May 28 | Sydney, Australia at Sydney Opera House
May 29 | Sydney, Australia at Sydney Opera House
July 1 | Spain, Vilanova i la Geltrú at Vida Festival
July 3 | Italy, Ferrara at Bands Apart
July 7 | Spain, Bilbao at Bilbao BBK Live
July 13 | Ireland, Dublin at The Iveagh Gardens
July 14 | Ireland, Dublin at The Iveagh Gardens (SOLD OUT)
July 16 | United Kingdom, Southwold at Latitude Festival
July 27 | Portland ME at Thompson’s Point
July 28 | Newport RI at Newport Folk Festival (SOLD OUT)
July 29 | Columbia MD at Merriweather Post Pavilion w/ Animal Collective
July 31 | Philadelphia PA at Mann Center for the Performing Arts w/ Animal Collective
August 1 | Brooklyn NY at BRIC Celebrate Brooklyn! Festival at the Prospect Park Bandshell
August 4 | Toronto ON at Massey Hall
August 6 | Detroit MI at The Masonic
September 23 | Los Angeles CA at Hollywood Bowl w/ Beach House
September 27 | Morrison CO at Red Rocks Amphitheater w/ Beach House

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.