Flight of the Conchords Announce New Live Album, Share New Song “Iain and Deanna (Live)” | Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Wednesday, May 22nd, 2024  

Flight of the Conchords Announce New Live Album, Share New Song “Iain and Deanna (Live)”

Live in London Due Out March 8 via Sub Pop

Jan 22, 2019 Flight of the Conchords Bookmark and Share

Beloved New Zealand musical comedy duo Flight of the Conchords (Bret McKenzie and Jemaine Clement) have announced a new live album, Live in London, and shared one of its tracks, “Iain and Deanna (Live).” Live in London was recorded at London’s Eventim Apollo theater at the same concert that was recorded for their HBO comedy special that aired last October, although it features two tracks not included in the special. It also features seven new songs that have not appeared on any of their studio albums or EPs. Live in London is due out March 8 via Sub Pop. Check out “Iain and Deanna (Live)” below, followed by the album’s tracklist and cover art.

Flight of the Conchords appeared on The Late Show with Stephen Colbert last September, where they performed the new song “Father & Son,” a hilarious new track with Clement the father and McKenzie the son. In December Sub Pop released an official live version of the song, which is the same version from Live in London. Despite being a late night TV performance, we made the Colbert version of “Father & Son” one of our Songs of the week.

Flight of the Conchords have been touring the last few years as part of the “Flight of the Conchords sing Flight of the Conchords Tour.” Back in January 2018 it was announced that there would be a new HBO live comedy special featuring the duo. But then in March 2018 McKenzie fell down some stairs and broke two bones in his left hand, thus postponing their 2018 tour and the special. It finally aired on HBO on October 6. Previously they shared an amusing teaser video for the special.

The duo had an acclaimed TV show (also titled Flight of the Conchords) that ran for two seasons on HBO (starting in 2007), in which they starred as two hapless New Zealand folk singers also named Bret and Jemaine who were trying to make it in New York City. They also released two comedy albums and an EP on Sub Pop, the last one being 2009’s I Told You I Was Freaky. There has been talk over the years of a Flight of the Conchords movie. Meanwhile the duo has kept busy on separate acting and musical pursuits.

Feel free to read our 2008 cover story article on Flight of the Conchords.

Live in London Tracklist:

1. Father and Son *
2. Band Reunion
3. Iain and Deanna *
4. Inner City Pressure
5. New Zealand Symphony Orchestra
6. Summer of 1353 *
7. Complimentary Muffin
8. Stana *
9. Stuck in a Lift
10. Foux du Fafa
11. Seagull *
12. Mutha’uckas - Hurt Feelings
13. One More Anecdote
14. Back on the Road *
15. Thank You London
16. Bowie
17. Bus Driver *
18. Tuning
19. Robots
20. Shady Rachel
21. Carol Brown **
22. The Most Beautiful Girl (In The Room) **

* = new song
** = bonus track not included in the TV special

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.