Florist Announce New Album, Share Video for New Song “Red Bird Pt. 2 (Morning)” | Under the Radar Magazine Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Saturday, February 24th, 2024  

Florist Announce New Album, Share Video for New Song “Red Bird Pt. 2 (Morning)”

Florist Due Out July 29 via Double Double Whammy

Apr 05, 2022 Photography by V Haddad
Bookmark and Share

Brooklyn-based quartet Florist have announced a new self-titled album and shared its first single, “Red Bird Pt. 2 (Morning),” via a video for the song. Florist is due out July 29 via Double Double Whammy. Check out “Red Bird Pt. 2 (Morning)” below, followed by the album’s tracklist and cover art.

Florist is Emily Sprague, Jonnie Baker, Rick Spataro, and Felix Walworth. Florist is the follow-up to 2019’s Emily Alone, which was essentially a solo album from Sprague.

“The trauma response to losing my best friend, my mom, was to feel really afraid to get close to anybody ever again,” she says in a press release. “It’s sort of cheesy, but I realized that life is better when you share it. The answer isn’t to isolate yourself and be alone.”

So Sprague reconvened with the rest of the band to record the new album in Hudson, NY in 2019.

Of the album title, Sprague explains: “We called it Florist because this is not just my songs with a backing band. It’s a practice. It’s a collaboration. It’s our one life. These are my best friends and the music is the way that it is because of that.”

Sprague also had this to say about “Red Bird Pt. 2 (Morning)” in the press release: “This song is the introduction to Florist, an album journey very much about the celebration of the people in our lives and the massive importance of connection. It is lyrically and spiritually a continuation of where Florist left off five years ago at the end of If Blue Could Be Happiness. We recorded the song to half-inch tape on a screened-in porch in June. The nature sounds are live. The birds really sang along.”

Florist Tracklist:

1. June 9th Nighttime
2. Red Bird Pt. 2 (Morning)
3. Duet For Guitar and Rain
4. Spring in Hours
5. Bells Pt. 1
6. Two
7. Variation
8. Organ’s Drone
9. Duet For 2 Eyes
10. Reprise
11. 43
12. Bells Pt. 2
13. River’s Bed
14. Sci-Fi Silence
15. Finally
16. Dandelion
17. Bells Pt. 3
18. Feathers
19. Jonnie On The Porch

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.