Frankie Cosmos Announce New Album, Share "Jesse" | Under the Radar Magazine Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Sunday, April 14th, 2024  

Frankie Cosmos Announce New Album, Share “Jesse”

Vessel Due Out March 30 via Sub Pop

Jan 11, 2018 Frankie Cosmos
Bookmark and Share

Find It At: {article-find} {name} {/article-find}

Frankie Cosmos, the project of Greta Kline, along with her backing band, have announced a new album, Vessel, and shared its first single, “Jesse.” Vessel is due out March 30 via Sub Pop, the band’s first for the iconic Seattle label. “Jesse” was shared via a stop-motion visual featuring a poodle and a bathtub, which can be watched below. Also below are the album’s tracklist and cover art, followed by the band’s upcoming tour dates.

Vessel is the follow-up to Frankie Cosmos’ breakthrough album Next Thing, released in 2016 via Bayonet Records. It is the third Frankie Cosmos full-length, but Kline’s 52nd release if you count all her bedroom-recorded, self-released output over the years. Kline’s band for Vessel featured bassist/vocalist David Maine, keyboardist/vocalist Lauren Martin, and drummer Luke Pyenson. The four of them initially went to Binghamton, New York to live-track the songs over three days with producer/studio engineer Hunter Davidsohn at his studio Business District Recording (he worked on the previous two Frankie Cosmos albums). Then Davidsohn and the band did more work on the album in Brooklyn, with the help of Carlos Hernandez and Julian Fader of Ava Luna at their Gravesend Recordings studio. Then as the band started playing some of the new songs live they would invite members of their opening acts to join them on stage to contribute to the new songs and some of those additional musicians then later also joined the band in the studio to put the finishing touches on the album, including Alex Bailey (formerly of Warehouse, who has now replaced David Maine as a permanent member of the live band), Vishal Narang (of Airhead DC), and singer/songwriter Anna McClellan. Finally the album was mixed and sent to Josh Bonati to be mastered.

Also read our 2016 interview with Frankie Cosmos.

Vessel Tracklist:

1. Caramelize
2. Apathy
3. As Often as I Can
4. This Stuff
5. Jesse
6. Duet
7. Accommodate
8. I’m Fried
9. Hereby
10. Ballad of R & J
11. Ur Up
12. Being Alive
13. Bus Bus Train Train
14. My Phone
15. Cafeteria
16. The End
17. Same Thing
18. Vessel

Frankie Cosmos Tour Dates:

Apr. 05 - Boulder, CO - Fox Theater *
Apr. 06 - Colorado Springs, CO - Black Sheep *
Apr. 07 - Santa Fe, NM - Meow Wolf *
Apr. 09 - Phoenix, AZ - Crescent Ballroom *
Apr. 10 - San Diego, CA - Quartyard %
Apr. 11 - Los Angeles, CA - Regent Theatre %
Apr. 12 - Santa Ana, CA - Constellation Room %
Apr. 13 - Fresno, CA - Strummers %
Apr. 14 - Berkeley, CA - UC Theatre %
Apr. 17 - Seattle, WA - Neumos %
Apr. 18 - Olympia, WA - Capitol Theater %
Apr. 20 - Portland, OR - Wonder Ballroom %

* w/ Lomelda
% w/ Ian Sweet & SOAR

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.