Frightened Rabbit Share “Tiny Changes” Tribute Album Making Of Documentary | Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Sunday, May 19th, 2024  

Benjamin Gibbard

Frightened Rabbit Share “Tiny Changes” Tribute Album Making Of Documentary

Documentary Features Benjamin Gibbard, Julien Baker, The Twilight Sad, Sarah Silverman, and Others

Aug 15, 2019 Frightened Rabbit Bookmark and Share

Frightened Rabbit have shared Tiny Changes, a new 24-minute behind-the-scenes documentary about the making of their recent tribute album Tiny Changes - A Celebration of ‘The Midnight Organ Fight’, where different artists covered each song on the band’s 2008 album The Midnight Organ Fight. The documentary features interviews with many of the artists on the tribute album about how they got involved and what the original 2008 album meant to them, including Benjamin Gibbard, Julien Baker, Sarah Silverman, The Twilight Sad, and others. Frightened Rabbit put the tribute album together themselves and it was released in July via Canvasback Music/Atlantic. Watch the documentary below.

Last year, Scott Hutchison, 36-year-old frontman for Scotland’s Frightened Rabbit, was found dead of apparent suicide after he was earlier reported missing by the band. Hutchison was actually involved in putting the tribute album together before his death. When Tiny Changes - A Celebration of ‘The Midnight Organ Fight’ was announced two covers of opening track “The Modern Leper,” one by Julien Baker and one by Biffy Clyro, were shared. Then they shared two different covers of “My Backwards Walk,” one by Manchester Orchestra and another by Harkin (aka Katie Harkin of Sky Larkin) and Sarah Silverman. Then they shared a cover of “Poke” by Daughter. That was followed by a cover of “Keep Yourself Warm” by Benjamin Gibbard of Death Cab for Cutie.

The album also includes covers by Craig Finn, The Twilight Sad, Lauren Mayberry of CHVRCHES and Aaron Dessner of The National together, and more.

Some of the proceeds from sales of the album will benefit Tiny Changes, a mental health charity the band launched last month in honor of Hutchison, “to help raise awareness and provide support for children and young people struggling with mental health issues.”

The band previously issued this statement about the album:

Tiny Changes - A Celebration of The Midnight Organ Fight

To celebrate the 10 year anniversary/birthday of The Midnight Organ Fight we wanted to avoid the usual approach of just repressing the vinyl or rereleasing the same record with different artwork or putting out demos that were never meant to be heard by anyone other than the band and maybe our parents. We came up with the idea of asking some pals to record their own interpretations of the songs on the album. It felt like a good way to celebrate everyone who had been a part of the last ten years of the band and we didn’t have to do any work ourselves! Every single person on Tiny Changes has been a part of our lives and Frightened Rabbit in a special way over the last ten years. We’ve shared studios, vans, bars, dressing rooms and probably even underwear with some of these people and that’s why this record is so special to us.

Scott was a vital part of bringing this album together and it’s something he was very excited about and worked hard to bring to life. He listened to and approved every track on there with us and he had already started preparing the artwork which you’ll see on there (if you buy it). This is a celebration of a record that connected thousands of people to Scott and connected thousands of people to each other and ten years on it is still managing to do it. Scott would probably have put in some joke here about when the album hits puberty and starts rebelling by smoking weed and getting things pierced. We’re not that funny so instead let’s just raise a glass, blow out the candles and make a wish.

We wish the album was available for pre-order tomorrow and that it will come out July 12th and you’ll be able to listen to two covers of ‘Modern Leper’ straight away when you pre-order! Now we’ve told you it probably won’t come true but we’ll keep everything crossed for you.

Grant, Andy, Simon and Billy x”

Our current print issue features an article about Hutchison. For the article we spoke in-depth to Grant Hutchison, Scott’s brother and Frightened Rabbit bandmate, about Scott’s long-term battle with depression and what he meant to his fans. We also spoke to James Graham of The Twilight Sad, Stuart Braithwaite of Mogwai, and Frightened Rabbit’s former manager Storme Whitby-Grubb. Read it here.

Frightened Rabbit released five studio albums: 2006’s Sing the Greys, 2008’s The Midnight Organ Fight, 2010’s The Winter of Mixed Drinks, 2013’s Pedestrian Verse, and 2016’s Painting of a Panic Attack. In 2014 Scott Hutchison released a solo album under the name Owl John. Hutchison also teamed up with his brother Grant Hutchison (also Frightened Rabbit’s drummer) and brothers Justin and James Lockey of Editors and Minor Victories to form supergroup Mastersystem, whose debut album, Dance Music, was released in 2018.

In April 2018 we interviewed Hutchison about the Mastersystem album. You can also revisit our 2016 interview with Hutchison on Painting of a Panic Attack and our 2014 interview with Hutchison about the Scottish Independence Referendum.

Back in May 2018 we posted three tributes to Hutchison after his passing:

Read Michael Hall’s tribute.

Read Paul Bullock’s tribute.

Read Mischa Pearlman’s tribute.

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.