Gorillaz Announce Guest Heavy New Album, Share “Saturnz Barz” Video and Three Other Songs | Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Monday, June 17th, 2024  

Gorillaz Announce Guest Heavy New Album, Share “Saturnz Barz” Video and Three Other Songs

Humanz Due Out April 28 via Warner Bros.

Mar 23, 2017 Gorillaz Bookmark and Share

Find It At: {article-find} {name} {/article-find}

Damon Albarn’s Gorillaz have long been teasing a new album and back in January they finally shared a new song and video, “Hallelujah Money,” which featured the guest vocals of Mercury Prize winner Benjamin Clementine. Now the cartoon band has finally announced a new album, Humanz, and shared new music from it. Humanz is due out April 28 via Warner Bros. They have shared the new song “Saturnz Barz” via a video directed by the band’s Jamie Hewlett. The song features “Popcan” and the video shows the cartoon version of the band in a haunted house. There’s both a regular version of the video and a 360 3D version.

Then three other songs have also been shared: “Ascension” (featuring Vince Staples), “We Got the Power” (featuring Savages’ Jehnny Beth), and “Andromeda” (featuring D.R.A.M.). Noel Gallagher sings backing vocals on “We Got the Power,” which of note since Gallagher’s former band Oasis were once big rivals of Albarn’s main band, Blur. Check the video and the other three songs all out below, followed by the album’s tracklist and cover art.

The album features a slew of special guests, including Jehnny Beth of Savages, Danny Brown, Benjamin Clementine, De La Soul, D.R.A.M., Peven Everett, Anthony Hamilton, Grace Jones, Zebra Katz, Kelela, Mavis Staples, Vince Staples, Popcaan, Pusha T, Jamie Principle, and Kali Uchis.

Humanz will be available on standard CD, vinyl, and digital download with 14 songs, as well as a 19-track 2-CD deluxe edition. There will also be a limited edition “Super Deluxe Vinyl Box Set” that features additional alternative versions of all 14 of the main album tracks.

Gorillaz will be performing the complete album for the first time at a secret show in London tomorrow (March 24) and more info on that can be found here.

Humanz Tracklist:

1. Ascension feat. Vince Staples
2. Strobelite feat. Peven Everett
3. Saturnz Barz feat. Popcaan
4. Momentz feat. De La Soul
5. Submission feat. Danny Brown & Kelela
6. Charger feat. Grace Jones
7. Andromeda feat. D.R.A.M.
8. Busted and Blue
9. Carnival feat. Anthony Hamilton
10. Let Me Out feat. Mavis Staples & Pusha T
11. Sex Murder Party feat. Jamie Principle & Zebra Katz
12. She’s My Collar feat. Kali Uchis
13. Hallelujah Money feat. Benjamin Clementine
14. We Got the Power feat. Jehnny Beth

Bonus material on Deluxe:

15. The Apprentice feat. Rag’n’ Bone Man, Zebra Katz & RAY BLK
16. Halfway To The Halfway House feat. Peven Everett
17. Out Of Body feat. Kilo Kish, Zebra Katz & Imani Vonshà
18. Ticker Tape feat. Carly Simon & Kali Uchis
19. Circle Of Friendz feat. Brandon Markell Holmes

With interludes narrated by Ben Mendelsohn.

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.