I Break Horses Announce First New Album in Six Years, Share Video for New Song “Death Engine” | Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Wednesday, July 24th, 2024  

I Break Horses Announce First New Album in Six Years, Share Video for New Song “Death Engine”

Warnings Due Out May 8 via Bella Union

Feb 04, 2020 I Break Horses Photography by Fredrik Balck Bookmark and Share

Sweden’s I Break Horses (the project of Maria Lindén) have announced a new album, Warnings, and shared its first single, “Death Engine,” via a video for the new song. Warnings is the band’s first new album in six years and is due out May 8 via Bella Union. Watch the “Death Engine” video below, followed by the album’s tracklist and cover art.

Warnings is the follow-up to 2014’s Chiaroscuro. “It has been some time in the making,” Lindén acknowledges in the press release announcing the album. “About six years, involving several studios, collaborations that didn’t work out, a crashed hard drive with about two years of work, writing new material again instead of trying to repair it. New studio recordings, erasing everything, then recording most of the album myself at home.”

For a while Lindén was working on instrumental tracks. “It wasn’t until I felt an urge to add vocals and lyrics,” she says, “that I realized I was making a new I Break Horses album.”

Eventually she got producer/mixing engineer Chris Coady (Beach House, TV on the Radio) involved to mix the album. “Before reaching out to Chris I read an interview where he said, ‘I like to slow things down. Almost every time I love the sound of something slowed down by half, but sometimes 500% you can get interesting shapes and textures,’” Lindén says. “And I just knew he’d be the right person for this album.”

As its title suggests, Lindén says Warnings deals partly with our troubled era. “It’s not a political album,” she says, “though it relates to the alarmist times we live in. Each song is a subtle warning of something not being quite right.”

As for “Death Engine,” Lindén says: “The song, which was written in connection to a close friend’s suicide attempt, also reflects upon the increasing reports that suicide is the second leading cause of death among Generation Z, with this age group having more mental health issues than any other generation.”

Summing up Warnings and the delay between albums, Lindén says: “Nowadays, the attention span equals nothing when it comes to how most people consume music. And it feels like songs are getting shorter, more ‘efficient’. I felt an urge to go against that and create an album journey from start to finish that takes time and patience to listen to. Like, slow the fuck down!”

Warnings Tracklist:

1. Turn
2. Silence
3. l a r m
4. I’ll Be The Death of You
5. d e n l i l l a p å s e a v l y c k a
6. The Prophet
7. Neon Lights
8. I Live at Night
9. Baby You Have Travelled For Miles Without Love in Your Eyes
10. Death Engine
11. a b s o l u t a m o l l p u n k t e n
12. Depression Tourist

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.