Iggy Pop and Josh Homme Confirm Album Details, Share Song, Perform and are Interviewed on “Colbert” | Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Sunday, May 19th, 2024  

Iggy Pop and Josh Homme Confirm Album Details, Share Song, Perform and are Interviewed on “Colbert”

Iggy Pop's Post Pop Depression Due Out March 18 via Loma Vista

Jan 22, 2016 Eagles of Death Metal Bookmark and Share

Yesterday it was announced that Iggy Pop and Josh Homme of Eagles of Death Metal and Queens of the Stone Age had teamed up and are releasing an album together, Post Pop Depression, which is due out March 18 via Loma Vista. Now it’s been clarified that it’s technically an Iggy Pop album produced by Homme, rather than being labeled as an Iggy Pop and Josh Homme album. The first single from the record, “Gardenia,” has been shared and is below. Pop, Homme, and their band performed “Gardenia” on The Late Show with Stephen Colbert last night and Pop and Homme were interviewed by Colbert. All that is below too.

The album also features Queens of the Stone Age/Dead Weather keyboardist/guitarist Dean Fertita and Arctic Monkeys drummer Matt Helders and live the band is also joined by Queens of the Stone Age’s Troy Van Leeuwen (guitar) and Chavez’s Matt Sweeney (bass). A short tour in planned for March.

The initial news of the album was announced yesterday via an interview with the duo in The New York Times. Homme compared the album to Iggy Pop’s 1977 album Lust for Life (which was a collaboration with David Bowie). Homme and Pop wrote the album together and Homme said working on the album helped him deal with the terrible terror attacks in Paris at an Eagles of Death Metal concert (Homme doesn’t tour with the band, but the rest of the lineup were playing the Le Bataclan venue on November 13 when ISIS terrorists stormed it, shot into the crowd, and took hostages). “The fact that I had this to work on, it saved me,” said Homme.

Below is the album’s tracklist, “Gardenia,” Iggy Pop and the band’s performance of it on Colbert, and their interview on Colbert. Above is the album cover.

Post Pop Depression Tracklist:

01 Break Into Your Heart
02 Gardenia
03 American Valhalla
04 In the Lobby
05 Sunday
06 Vulture
07 German Days
08 Chocolate Drops
09 Paraguay


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.