Iron & Wine to Release New Single on Black Friday | Under the Radar Magazine Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Saturday, April 13th, 2024  

Artwork by Tom Humberstone

Iron & Wine to Release Single on Black Friday

Bruce Springsteen, Bob Dylan, Cee-Lo Green, MGMT, Grinderman, Sharon Jones, Black Keys, Metallica and More Issue Releases for Mini-Record Store Day

Oct 29, 2010 Bruce Springsteen
Bookmark and Share

Next January, indie-folk mavens Iron & Wine will issue their fourth LP Kiss Each Other Clean through Warner Bros. in the U.S. and 4AD internationally. On November 26 (Black Friday), Sam Beam will also release a new three-track single, exclusively available at independent record shops. The single includes Kiss Each Other Clean‘s epic album opener “Walking Far From Home,” and bonus tracks “Summer in Savannah,” and “Biting Your Tail.” Formats include a 12-inch vinyl and CD. The digital release date is November 30.

The forthcoming Walking Far From Home EP is part of an event coordinated by the Record Store Day folks. On Black Friday, tons of bands and imprints will unleash exclusive music. As we reported this week, The Black Keys’ deluxe box set of Brothers is part of this event. Below, we’ve got some more highlights for the November 26 event (via P4k.) Mark your calendars.

- A 7-inch single from Bruce Springsteen featuring “Save My Love” and “Because the Night” from The Promise: The Making of Darkness on the Edge of Town.

- A gatefold 7-inch from MGMT featuring “Congratulations” and a remix from Erol Alkan as well as a 20-page storybook

- A colored vinyl 12-inch version of Cee-Lo’s “Fuck You” also featuring the runaway single’s instrumental.

- A 12-inch single of Grinderman’s “Heathen Child” featuring a version with Robert Fripp.

- Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings’ I Learned the Hard Way, with the tracks spread across 11 7-inch singles, featuring 10 bonus cuts and eight instrumental takes.

- A translucent vinyl 7-inch from Bob Dylan featuring archival versions of “The Times They Are A-Changin’” and “Like a Rolling Stone.”

- A colored vinyl 7-inch from The Gaslight Anthem featuring a cover of The Rolling Stones’ “Tumblin’ Dice” and a previously unreleased song.

- A holiday-themed 10-inch single from Drive By Truckers.

- Roky Erickson live DVD, Night of the Vampire, of him performing in Los Angeles with The Black Angels as support.

- A live CD and double 10-inch from Metallica featuring a 2008 live concert recorded in the basement under Nashville’s Grimey’s record store.

- A double 7-inch single from Dr. Dog featuring four previously unreleased songs.

- A 7-inch single from Soundgarden with the previously unreleased track “The Telephantasm” and a live performance of “Gun.”

- U2’s Wide Awake in Europe, a three-track 12-inch featuring live tunes recorded during their European trek.

- A 7-inch single of The Ting Tings’ “Hands” with a Passion Pit re-rub.



Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.