Iron & Wine’s Sam Beam and Band of Horses’ Ben Bridwell Announce Collaborative Covers Album | Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Friday, July 19th, 2024  

Iron & Wine’s Sam Beam and Band of Horses’ Ben Bridwell Announce Collaborative Covers Album

Sing Into My Mouth Out This Summer

Apr 02, 2015 Band of Horses Bookmark and Share

Friends for many years, Iron & Wine‘s Sam Beam and Band of Horses’ Ben Bridwell have revealed that they will release a collaborative covers album this summer. Titled Sing Into My Mouth, the 12-track effort was recorded last summer at Echo Mountain Studios in Asheville, NC, and features takes on songs such as Talking Heads’ “This Must Be the Place (Naive Melody),” Sade’s “Bulletproof Soul” El Perro del Mar’s “God Knows (You Gotta Give to Get),” and Them Two’s “Am I a Good Man?”

“As excited as I was at the prospect of finally working together, I was unsure of the possibility of us both finding the time,” says Bridwell in a press release. “Luckily for me, Sam was persistent with the idea of recording some of our favorite tunes that we’d always wanted to cover. This is truly a ‘full circle’ moment for me… I’ve always wanted us to sing together and finally I have that dream realized. I couldn’t be more excited to continue this project at the upcoming shows to take it even further while playing some of our original songs together.”

“Ben and I started our careers together and had been threatening to work with one another for years,” adds Beam. “When we finally conceived of the covers project and carved out some time, it was nostalgic and fun from top to bottom—the process of picking the songs to cover was really reminiscent of more than 15 years ago when we used to mail each other cassettes and CDs of music we were into—and the end of every recording day found us cutting up with friends the way we used to when we’d cross paths in South Carolina. He’s always been one of the funniest people I know.”

Scroll down below to view the record’s complete tracklist.

Sing Into My Mouth:

1 This Must Be the Place (Naive Melody) (Talking Heads)
2 Done This One Before (Ronnie Lane)
3 Any Day Woman (Bonnie Raitt)
4 You Know Me More Than I Know (John Cale)
5 Bulletproof Soul (Sade)
6 There’s No Way Out of Here (Unicorn)
7 God Knows (You Gotta Give to Get) (El Perro del Mar)
8 The Straight and Narrow (Spiritualized)
9 Magnolia (JJ Cale)
10 Am I a Good Man? (Them Two)
11 Ab’s Song (Marshall Tucker Band)
12 Coyote, My Little Brother (Pete Seeger)




Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.