Jarvis Cocker and Chilly Gonzales Announce Collaborative Album, Share Two Songs and Teaser Trailer | Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Sunday, July 14th, 2024  

Jarvis Cocker and Chilly Gonzales Announce Collaborative Album, Share Two Songs and Teaser Trailer

Room 29 Due Out March 17 via Deutsche Grammophon

Jan 27, 2017 Jarvis Cocker and Chilly Gonzales Bookmark and Share

Pulp’s Jarvis Cocker has teamed up with Chilly Gonzales for a new collaborative concept album, Room 29, and have shared two songs from it and a teaser video. Room 29 is due out March 17 via Deutsche Grammophon. The album is inspired by room 29 in the iconic Hollywood hotel Château Marmont, which has had many famous guests (the hotel opened in 1929). Below are two related tracks from the album, “Tearjerker” and “The Tearjerker Returns,” followed by a short teaser video and the album’s tracklist.

There will be various concerts by Cocker and Gonzalez connected to the album in different cities: Hamburg’s Kampnagel (March 17-19), London’s Barbican (March 23-25), and Berlin’s Volksbühne (March 28-30).

Cocker has described the performances in a press release, and his descriptions also give some insight into the album: “Featuring contributions from film historian David Thomson and the stories of famous former occupants of the room such as Jean Harlow and Howard Hughes, the show will also attempt to unpick the way a heady concoction dreamt up in the immediate vicinity of the hotel went on to intoxicate the entire population of planet Earth. Or, (to quote the sub-title of David Thomson’s book The Big Screen): it is also the story of the movies and what they did to us.

“For the duration of one evening the entire audience will be occupants of Room 29. You will be greeted by our concierge and you will be given a key. Sit down, get comfortable - it will be our pleasure to serve up a night of entertainment like no other: Room 29 may be a real location in Hollywood, California - but it is also a place within each one of us. Through this collection of songs we hope to open the door to that room for all those of you who wish to explore it. How’s that for Room Service?”

Room 29 Tracklist:

01 “Room 29″
02 “Marmont Overture”
03 “Tearjerker”
04 “Interlude 1 - Hotel Stationery”
05 “Clara”
06 “Bombshell”
07 “Belle Boy”
08 “Howard Hughes Under The Microscope”
09 “Salomé”
10 “Interlude 2 - 5 Hours A Day”
11 “Daddy, You’re Not Watching Me”
12 “The Other Side”
13 “The Tearjerker Returns”
14 “A Trick Of The Light”
15 “Room 29 (Reprise)”
16 “Ice Cream As Main Course”

(Via Stereogum and Pitchfork)


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.