Lanterns on the Lake Announce New Album, Share New Song “Every Atom” | Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Monday, June 17th, 2024  

Lanterns on the Lake Announce New Album, Share New Song “Every Atom”

Spook the Herd Due Out February 21, 2020 via Bella Union

Nov 07, 2019 Lanterns on the Lake Bookmark and Share

British five-piece Lanterns on the Lake have announced a new album, Spook the Herd, and shared its first single, “Every Atom,” via a video for it. They have also announced some tour dates. Spook the Herd is due out February 21, 2020 via Bella Union. Check out “Every Atom” below, followed by the album’s tracklist and cover art, as well as the tour dates.

Spook the Herd is the band’s fourth album, and will be released around four and half years after their last album, 2015’s Beings. Carola Müller directed and edited the “Every Atom” video, which is black & white and uses footage from NASA.

Lantern on the Lake’s vocalist Hazel Wilde had this to say about “Every Atom” in a press release: “This is a song about grief and how your subconscious takes a long time to accept when someone is dead and gone forever, even when the rational side of you understands it. I put that idea into a story where the narrator is my subconscious searching for someone in this dream-like fictional world. I go to the extremes to search for even just a trace of them… through all of space and time, splitting every atom, ‘until Andromeda and the Milky Way collide.’ I won’t give up. I can’t let go.”

The press release describes the album as such: “Beginning with the record’s title - a pointed comment at the dangerously manipulative tactics of ideologues - its nine songs turn the microscope to issues including our hopelessly polarized politics, social media, addiction, grief and the climate crisis.”

Guitarist/producer Paul Gregory had this to say about recording the album: “There was a sense of release in terms of what kind of music we felt we could make. The idea of what kind of band you’re supposed to be really disappeared. It was great; you felt you could do whatever you like.”

Read our review of Beings here.

Spook the Herd Tracklist:

1. When It All Comes True
2. Baddies
3. Every Atom
4. Blue Screen Beams
5. Before They Excavate
6. Swimming Lessons
7. Secrets & Medicine
8. This Is Not a Drill
9. Fitting End

Lanterns on the Lake Tour Dates:

4/2/2020 - Leeds - Brudenell Social Club
4/3/2020 - Manchester - Deaf Institute
4/4/2020 - Newcastle - Boiler Shop
4/15/2020 - London - EartH
4/16/2020 - Brighton - Patterns
4/17/2020 - Exeter - Phoenix
4/18/2020 - Nottingham - Bodega
4/22/2020 - Birmingham - Castle & Falcon
4/23/2020 - Norwich - Waterfront Studio
4/24/2020 - Cambridge - Portland Arms
4/25/2020 - Bristol - Thekla
4/30/2020 - Glasgow - King Tuts

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.