Liars Announce New Album, Share New Song “Murdrum” | Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Thursday, May 23rd, 2024  

Liars Announce New Album, Share New Song “Murdrum”

Titles With The Word Fountain Due Out September 21 via Mute

Aug 29, 2018 Liars Bookmark and Share

Liars (the project of Angus Andrew) released their last album, TFCF, in August 2017 via Mute. Now they have announced a sequel album, Titles With The Word Fountain, and shared its first single, “Murdrum.” Titles With The Word Fountain is due out digitally and on cassette September 21 via Mute (and on vinyl November 2). Check out “Murdrum” below, followed by the album’s tracklist and cover art, as well as Liars’ upcoming tour dates.

While Titles With The Word Fountain was recorded at the same time as TFCF, Andrew doesn’t regard it as a collection of left over material or outtakes. “To me it’s more like a sequel,” he says in a press release. “I chose the songs that appear on TFCF based on how well they addressed the trauma of a failed creative relationship, whereas the material on Titles With The Word Fountain is more playful despite revolving around the same sentiments.”

TFCF was the first Liars release recorded just by Andrew and without founding member Aaron Hemphill. “There was a lot of pressure in producing TFCF as it was guaranteed to be framed by the lack of band members,” Andrew comments in the press release. “With Titles With The Word Fountain I felt stripped of that burden and more free to include work that could be construed as unclear or abstract.”

Earlier this year Mute released 1/1, Liars’ first soundtrack, which was actually recorded when Hemphill was still in the band.

Titles With The Word Fountain Tracklist:

1. 97 Tears
2. Face In Ski Mask Bodies to the Wind
3. Murdrum
4. Pure Context
5. Double Elegy
6. Left’s Got Power Right Hasn’t
7. Past Future Split
8. P/A\M
9. Fantail Creeps
10. Perky Cut
11. Feed the Truth
12. Gawking At the Accident
13. Absence Blooms
14. Extracts From the Seated Sequence
15. On Giving Up
16. Sound of Burning Rubbish
17. A Kind of Stopwatch
18. No Help Pamphlet (The Alpha Ceti Orchestra Remix) **

**The digital version of Titles With The Word Fountain includes a remix of “No Help Pamphlet.” The original version appears on TFCF.

Liars Tour Dates:

9/27 - Melbourne, Australia - The Curtin
9/28 - Melbourne, Australia - ACMI Late Nights
9/29 - Surry Hills, Australia - Oxford Art Factory
9/30 - Wollongong, Australia - Yours & Owls Festival

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.