Listen: Girl Ray - “Don’t Go Back at Ten” | Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Sunday, May 19th, 2024  

Listen: Girl Ray - “Don’t Go Back at Ten”

Earl Grey Due Out August 4 via Moshi Moshi

Jun 28, 2017 Girl Ray Photography by Neil Thomson Bookmark and Share

Find It At: {article-find} {name} {/article-find}

Girl Ray are a promising new British trio. Poppy Hankin (guitar/vocals), Iris McConnell (drums), and Sophie Moss (bass) are all 19 years old and from North London. The band have a bit of an ‘80s indie-pop vibe in line with the iconic C86 compilation from 1986 (a modern reference point might be Cate Le Bon). After putting out a series of great singles, the band are releasing their debut album, the cleverly titled Earl Grey, on August 4 via Moshi Moshi. Now they have shared another song from it, “Don’t Go Back at Ten.” Listen below, followed by the band’s U.K. tour dates, some of their previous singles and videos (“Stupid Things,” “Preacher,” “I’ll Make This Fun,” “Trouble,” “Where Am I Now”), and the album’s tracklist.

Poppy Hankin had this to say about the song in a press release: “After a break-up I was super low, and as clichéd and teen-movie as it sounds, it was truly my friends who got me through it, making sure that I didn’t just mope about the whole time eating pots of cottage cheese and crying. I guess I wrote this one to cheer myself up in a way. Not many of the songs on the album are happy but this one is, kinda!”

Girl Ray U.K. Tour Dates:

16 July - Latitude Festival
23 July - Truck Festival
29 July - Port Eliot Festival
11 Aug - Isle Of Wight Ventnor Festival
18 - 20 Aug - Green Man Festival
26 Aug - Sea Change Festival
03 Sept - End of The Road Festival
16 Sep - Good Life Festival
30 Oct - Liverpool - Liverpool Music Week
31 Oct - Leeds - Headrow House
01 Nov - Manchester - Gullivers
02 Nov - Glasgow - Broadcast
03 Nov - Newcastle - Think Tank Underground
05 Nov - Birmingham - Hare & Hounds
06 Nov - Oxford - The Cellar
07 Nov - Bristol - Louisiana
08 Nov - Brighton - Green Door Store
09 Nov - London, The Scala [headline show]

Earl Grey Tracklist:

1. Just Like That
2. Monday Tuesday
3. Stupid Things
4. Don’t Go Back at Ten
5. Cutting Shapes
6. Preacher
7. A Few Months
8. Earl Grey (Stuck in a Groove)
9. Where Am I Now
10. Stupid Things (reprise)
11. Ghosty
12. Waiting Ages

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

June 29th 2017

what is moshi moshi please ? i want to know

July 29th 2017

Today I learned a lot from your website. Thank you .
OMG , Amazing!! Everything Informative