Listen: Girls Names - "A Hunger Artist" | Under the Radar Magazine Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Saturday, December 2nd, 2023  

Listen: Girls Names - “A Hunger Artist”

Arms Around a Vision Due Out October 2 via Tough Love

Jul 07, 2015 Girls Names Bookmark and Share

Irish post-punk band Girls Names will be releasing their third album Arms Around a Vision on October 2 via Tough Love. That’s quite a long ways away, but now the Belfast band has released another song from the record, the fantastic near-six-minute long “A Hunger Artist.” Check it out below via Spin, who premiered it.

Girls Names’ 30-year-old frontman Cathal Cully commented on the song’s title in a press release: “I’m not starving or anything, but I’ve practically been living hand to mouth since I was 22. Most guitar music now is just a playground for the rich middle classes, and it’s really boring and elitist. We’re elitist in our own way, in that we’re on our own and you can’t fuck with us when we’ve nothing to lose.”

The band previously shared Arms Around a Vision track “Reticence.” Check out “A Hunger Artist” below, followed by the album’s tracklist.

Arms Around a Vision Tracklist:

1. Reticence
2. An Artificial Spring
3. Desire Oscillations
4. (Obsession)
5. Chrome Rose
6. A Hunger Artist
7. Málaga
8. Dysmorphia
9. (Convalescence)
10. Exploit Me
11. Take Out the Hand
12. I Was You


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.