Listen to New 4AD Covers From Big Thief, Ex:Re, Becky and the Birds, and SOHN | Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Sunday, May 19th, 2024  

Listen to New 4AD Covers From Big Thief, Ex:Re, Becky and the Birds, and SOHN

Bills & Aches & Blues Due Out Tomorrow

Apr 01, 2021 Bookmark and Share

4AD has shared the fourth and final set of songs to be featured on their compilation album Bills & Aches & Blues, which celebrates the label’s 20th anniversary and will be out tomorrow (Apr. 2). This new song set features SOHN covering “Song to the Siren” by Tim Buckley, Becky and the Birds covering “The Wolves Act I and II” by Bon Iver, Ex:Re covering “Misery Is a Butterfly” by Blonde Redhead, and Big Thief covering “Off You” by The Breeders. Listen to all covers below.

Bills & Aches & Blues will be available digitally tomorrow, and will receive a vinyl/CD release on June 23. A deluxe vinyl boxset will also be available later this year. The first 12 months’ profits from the album will be donated to The Harmony Project, a Los Angeles-based after-school program for children from communities and schools that lack equitable access to studying the arts or music.

Previously 4AD shared the first five songs of the compilation, which featurd covers from Tkay Maidza (performing “Where Is My Mind?” by Pixies), U.S. Girls (“Junkyard” by The Birthday Party), Aldous Harding (“Revival” by Deerhunter), The Breeders (“Dirt Eaters” by His Name is Alive), and new signing Maria Somerville (“Seabird” by Air Miami).

Later, the label shared the second set of songs from the compilation: Tune-Yards covering The Breeders’ “Cannonball,” Helado Negro covering Deerhunter’s “Futurism,” Spencer covering Grimes’ “Genesis,” Efterklang covering Piano Magic’s “Postal,” and Bing and Ruth covering Pixies’ “Gigantic.”

Last week, they shared the third set of songs from the compilation: Future Islands covering “The Moon Is Blue” by Colourbox, Jenny Hval covering “Sunbathing” by Lush, Dry Cleaning covering “Oblivion” by Grimes, and Bradford Cox covering “Mountain Battles” by The Breeders.

Bills & Aches & Blues Tracklist:

1. Tkay Maidza: Where Is My Mind? (Pixies)
2. U.S. Girls: Junkyard (The Birthday Party)
3. Aldous Harding: Revival (Deerhunter)
4. The Breeders: Dirt Eaters (His Name Is Alive)
5. Maria Somerville: Seabird (Air Miami)
6. Tune-Yards: Cannonball (The Breeders)
7. Spencer.: Genesis (Grimes)
8. Helado Negro: Futurism (Deerhunter)
9. Efterklang Postal: (Piano Magic)
10. Bing and Ruth: Gigantic (Pixies)
11. Future Islands: The Moon Is Blue (Colourbox)
12. Jenny Hval: Sunbathing (Lush)
13. Dry Cleaning: Oblivion (Grimes)
14. Bradford Cox: Mountain Battles (Breeders)
15. SOHN: Song To The Siren (Tim Buckley)
16. Becky and The Birds: The Wolves Act I and II (Bon Iver)
17. Ex:Re: Misery Is a Butterfly (Blonde Redhead)
18. Big Thief: Off You (The Breeders)

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.