Lower Dens Announce New Album, Share Video for New Song “Young Republicans” | Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Wednesday, June 19th, 2024  

Lower Dens Announce New Album, Share Video for New Song “Young Republicans”

The Competition Due Out September 6 via Ribbon Music

May 30, 2019 Lower Dens Photography by Torso Bookmark and Share

Lower Dens (which is led by singer/songwriter Jana Hunter) have announced a new album, The Competition, and shared a video for its first single, “Young Republicans.” The Competition is due out September 6 via Ribbon Music. Check out the “Young Republicans” video below, followed by the album’s tracklist and cover art.

The Competition is the follow-up to 2015’s Escape From Evil. A press release says The Competition “might be Hunter’s most vulnerable, hook-filled album yet, a leftfield, resistance pop record that could only be released in 2019.” Raul Gonzo directed the Young Republicans” video and the press release says the song is “about a certain sect of society’s elite and their insatiable appetite to consume the lower classes both figuratively and literally.”

Hunter had this to say about the album in the press release: “The issues that have shaped my life, for better or for worse, have to do with coming from a family and a culture that totally bought into this competitive mindset. I was wild and in a lot of pain as a kid; home life was very bleak, and pop songs were a guaranteed escape to a mental space where beauty, wonder, and love were possible. I wanted to write songs that might have the potential to do that.”

The Competition Tracklist:

01. Galapagos
02. Hand Of God
03. Two Faced Love
04. Young Republicans
05. Real Thing
06. Buster Keaton
07. I Drive
08. Simple Life
09. Empire Sundown
10. Lucky People
11. In Your House

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.