Metronomy Share “Old Skool” Video, Confirm Album Details | Under the Radar Magazine Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Wednesday, February 21st, 2024  

Metronomy Share “Old Skool” Video, Confirm Album Details

Summer 08 Due Out July 1 via Because Music

May 12, 2016 Metronomy
Bookmark and Share

Yesterday, Metronomy announced their new album, Summer 08, and shared its first single, “Old Skool,” via Annie Mac’s BBC Radio 1 show. Now they have shared a video for “Old Skool” and confirmed the album details, including that Robyn guests on one song. The video and tracklist is below.

Dawn Shadforth directed the “Old Skool” video, which features a 1970s house party that gets out of hand while a young child sleeps upstairs and stars Catastrophe‘s Sharon Horgan and Game of Thrones’ Ben Crompton. A press release says the video was inspired by the Mike Leigh television film from 1977, Abigail’s Party.

Summer 08 is due out July 1 via Because Music and was written, recorded, and produced entirely by main creative force Joseph Mount. “Old Skool” features scratching from Beastie Boys’ Mix Master Mike and Robyn duets on “Hang Me Out to Dry” (an early version of the track was recorded for their 2011 album The English Rivera, this version was mixed by Erol Alkan). Mount says he recorded most of the album over the course of two weeks last year and it finds him returning to the process that brought forth his 2008 breakthrough record Nights Out, which was followed by the Mercury Prize-nominated The English Rivera and 2014’s Love Letters.

“I had those other albums - and how I wanted to record in bigger studios - out of my system,” Mount explained in a press release. “I wanted to make another record with the naivety of Nights Out: 10 tracks, straight up, upbeat. Write another banger, then another, and don’t really think about it.”

Summer 08 was recorded in Black Box Studios in France and was mixed by Bob Clearmountain (David Bowie) and Neal Pogue (OutKast). The press release compares it to Bowie and OutKast, as well as Daft Punk.

Mount says he has no immediate plans to tour the album so that he can spend time with his two young children. “I want to have a break from touring but I don’t want a break from putting out music.”

Summer 08 Tracklist:

1. Back Together

2. Miami Logic

3. Old Skool (with Mixmaster Mike)

4. 16 Beat

5. Hang Me Out to Dry (with Robyn)

6. Mick Slow

7. My House

8. Night Owl

9. Love’s Not an Obstacle

10. Summer Jam


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.