MGMT to Offer “Congratulations” on April 13 | Under the Radar Magazine Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Monday, December 4th, 2023  

MGMT to Offer “Congratulations” on April 13

Second Album Co-Produced by Sonic Boom

Feb 09, 2010 Photography by Wendy Lynch Redfern MGMT
Bookmark and Share

On April 13 Brooklyn-based duo MGMT will release Congratulations, their nine-song sophomore album and the follow-up to Oracular Spectacular (which was released digitally in late 2007 and on CD in 2008).

The album was produced by MGMT (Andrew Vanwyngarden and Ben Goldwasser) and Sonic Boom (aka former Spacemen 3 member Pete Kember) and recorded in Brooklyn, upstate New York, and Malibu. MGMT’s live backing band also played on the albumMatt Asti (bass, backing vocals), James Richardson (guitar, backing vocals), and Will Berman (drums, backing vocals). Jennifer Herrema (Royal Trux) also contributed guest vocals.

“We’ve been lucky enough to meet and work with some of our all-time musical heroes,” Vanwyngarden said in a press release, in regards to working with Kember and Herrema. “It’s so great to be around such amazing and unusual musical minds.”

Congratulations track list is as follows:

1. “It’s Working”

2. “Song for Dan Treacy”

3. “Someone’s Missing”

4. “Flash Delirium”

5. “I Found a Whistle”

6. “Siberian Breaks”

7. “Brian Eno”

8. “Lady Dada’s Nightmare”

9. “Congratulations”


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

November 26th 2012

Ya learn sometihng new everyday. It’s true I guess!

November 26th 2012

It’s awylas a relief when someone with obvious expertise answers. Thanks!

November 26th 2012

Aritcles like these put the consumer in the driver seat-very important.