Moaning Announce New Album, Share Video For New Song “Ego” | Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Monday, July 15th, 2024  

Moaning Announce New Album, Share Video For New Song “Ego”

Uneasy Laughter Due Out March 20 via Sub Pop

Jan 15, 2020 Moaning Bookmark and Share

Los Angeles shoegazers/post-punkers Moaning have announced a new album, Uneasy Laughter, and shared its first single, “Ego,” via a video for the track. Uneasy Laughter is due out March 20 via Sub Pop. Check out the Ambar Navarro-directed “Ego” video below, followed by the album’s tracklist and cover art.

Uneasy Laughter is the follow-up to the trio’s self-titled debut album, released in 2018 also via Sub Pop. Moaning consists of vocalist/guitarist Sean Solomon, bassist/keyboardist Pascal Stevenson, and drummer Andrew MacKelvie. The band worked with producer/engineer Alex Newport (At The Drive-In, Bloc Party, Melvins) on Uneasy Laughter.

Solomon had this to say about “Ego” in a press release: “The lyrics are about letting go of your own bullshit to help other people. Wanting to love yourself to love others. The ego can make you feel like you’re the greatest person in the world or the worst. It makes you think your problems are abnormally different which is isolating and rarely true. The song is a reminder that listening to other perspectives is important and beneficial to both parties involved.”

Stevenson had this to say add about the single: “Musically, the song was started by repurposing a drum beat made for a different demo and putting it on top of a new synth loop. It was a digital collage where we passed Ableton files back and forth. We purposely avoided the impulse to add guitars to everything, letting the melodies of the synth and vocals be the focus. We wanted to embrace the songs ability to slip between genre lines.”

Solomon celebrated a year of sobriety during the ​sessions for the album and says he wanted to be more open with Uneasy Laughter: “Men are conditioned not to be vulnerable or admit they’re wrong. But I wanted to talk openly about my feelings and mistakes I’ve made.”

Uneasy Laughter Tracklist:

1. Ego
2. Make It Stop
3. ///
4. Stranger
5. Running
6. Connect the Dots
7. Fall in Love
8. Coincidence or Fate
9. What Separates Us
10. //////////
11. Keep Out
12. Saving Face
13. Say Something

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

September 13th 2020

The long awaited release… I was really looking forward to the release of their new album and it definitely did not disappoint. I personally love the track connect the dots but Ego is really great too. The MV is also pretty entertaining and I love what the lyrics represent. These guys are so talented, they don’t get the recognition they deserve it’s a shame.

San Antonio House Leveling
October 20th 2020

I love the moaning crew! Name a more talented group, I’ll waitl