New Album of Previously Unreleased Jeff Buckley Recordings to Be Released Next March | Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Sunday, June 16th, 2024  

New Album of Previously Unreleased Jeff Buckley Recordings to Be Released Next March

You and I Includes Covers of The Smiths, Sly & The Family Stone, Led Zeppelin, and Bob Dylan

Nov 12, 2015 Jeff Buckley Bookmark and Share

The late Jeff Buckley only released one full-length studio album, 1994’s Grace, before his tragic passing in 1997. Since then various Buckley recordings have been posthumously released and now there’s another collection of them on the way. An NPR “Morning Edition” story this morning reported that a new album of previously unreleased Buckley recordings, You and I, is due out March 11, 2016. The 10-track release collects recordings from early in his career and are mainly covers he recorded to help guide producers to what he had in mind for the sound of his debut album. It includes two Smiths covers, as well as covers of songs by Sly & The Family Stone, Led Zeppelin, Bob Dylan, and others. It also includes the first ever recordings of his song “Grace.”

Most of the tracks were recorded in February 1993 at Steve Addabbo’s Shelter Island Sound studio and were discovered when a 20th anniversary edition of Grace was being put together. The full tracklist is below. Also below is the NPR report, which includes clips of Buckley’s covers of The Smiths’ “The Boy with the Thorn in His Side” and Sly & The Family Stone’s “Everyday People.” And then you can listen to the full “Everyday People” cover at NPR. The “Everyday People” cover will also be released as a 7-inch on Record Store Day, with the B-side being Sly & The Family Stone’s original version of the song.

You and I Tracklist:

1. Just Like a Woman (Bob Dylan cover)
2. Everyday People (Sly & The Family Stone cover)
3. Don’t Let the Sun Catch You Cryin’ (First recorded by Louis Jordan)
4. Grace (original)
5. Calling You (Jevetta Steele cover)
6. Dream of You and I (original)
7. The Boy with the Thorn In His Side (The Smiths cover)
8. Poor Boy Long Way From Home (traditional blues song, Bukka White cover)
9. Night Flight (Led Zeppelin cover)
10. I Know It’s Over (The Smiths cover)


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

Gary Lucas
November 27th 2015

This album does not contain the first ever studio recording of “Grace”—that would be the demo I recorded with Jeff and my band Gods and Monsters at Krypton Studios here in NYC in Aug. 1991 which was officially released on Knitting Factory Records in 2002