Nicolas Godin of Air Announces New Solo Album, Shares Video for New Song "The Foundation" | Under The Radar Magazine Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Friday, December 3rd, 2021  

Nicolas Godin of Air Announces New Solo Album, Shares Video for New Song “The Foundation”

Concrete and Glass Due Out January 24, 2020 via Because Music

Nov 27, 2019 Nicolas Godin
Bookmark and Share

Nicolas Godin, one half of the French band Air, has announced a new solo album, Concrete and Glass, and shared a new song from it, “The Foundation,” via a video for the track. The song features Oxnard, California singer Cola Boyy and the album also features Kirin J Callinan, Hot Chip’s Alexis Taylor, and others. Concrete and Glass is due out January 24, 2020 via Because Music. It includes “The Border,” a new song Godin shared in October via a video for the track. Check out “The Foundation” below, followed by the album’s tracklist and cover art.

Concrete and Glass is the follow-up to Godin’s debut solo album, Countrepoint, released back in 2015.

Godin had this to say about “The Foundation” in a press release: “Pierre Koenig’s Case Study House #21 was the starting point for this song. Well, at least that’s how I presented the music to its future singer, Cola Boyy. I told him about the project’s architectural origins, explaining that he must let his own personal inspiration run free for the lyrics. I always thought that a concept was always the perfect way to start a record, but then you should soon let the music take over. A good record is one in which the music seizes control pretty fast. I’ve applied this rule to each album I’ve been lucky enough to record, with only one mantra: ‘It’s the music that decides.’ This song is the perfect example of this.”

Greg Barnes directed the video for “The Foundation,” shooting it on 16mm film. He had this to say about the video in the press release: “The synth-led, ethereal momentum of the track felt so out-of-this-world and intrepid all at once - the concept of mankind exploring space fell into place almost immediately, and the excitement of creating a sci-fi visual for the song stayed with me throughout the whole process.”

Read our 2015 interview with Nicolas Godin on Counterpoint.

Concrete and Glass Tracklist:

01 Concrete and Glass
02 Back to Your Heart (ft. Kate NV)
03 We Forgot Love (ft. Kadhja Bonet)
04 What Makes Me Think About You
05 Time on My Hands (ft. Kirin J Callinan)
06 The Foundation (ft. Cola Boyy)
07 Catch Yourself Falling (ft. Alexis Taylor)
08 The Border
09 Turn Right Turn Left
10 Cité Radieuse

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.