Nine Albums Out Today Worth Hearing: Gorillaz, Feist, Mew, Sufjan Stevens, and More | Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Saturday, May 25th, 2024  

Nine Albums Out Today Worth Hearing: Gorillaz, Feist, Mew, Sufjan Stevens, and More

Plus Thurston Moore, BNQT, Sylvan Esso, Little Cub, and Juliana Hatfield

Apr 28, 2017 Gorillaz Bookmark and Share

Here we highlight nine albums due out today that we feel are most worth hearing. We have also included Amazon links for each album. If you click through those links and buy the album (or anything else on Amazon once you’ve clicked through) then Amazon rewards us with a sales percentage. So buy that album you were likely going to purchase anyway, but also help support one of America’s last truly independent print music magazines.

Gorillaz: Humanz (Warner Bros.)

Damon Albarn’s Gorillaz released a new album, Humanz, today via Warner Bros. The album features a slew of special guests, including Jehnny Beth of Savages, Danny Brown, Benjamin Clementine, De La Soul, D.R.A.M., Peven Everett, Anthony Hamilton, Grace Jones, Zebra Katz, Kelela, Mavis Staples, Vince Staples, Popcaan, Pusha T, Jamie Principle, Noel Gallagher, and Kali Uchis. Humanz is available on standard CD, vinyl, and digital download with 14 songs, as well as a 19-track 2-CD deluxe edition. There is also a limited edition “Super Deluxe Vinyl Box Set” that features additional alternative versions of all 14 of the main album tracks. Read our review of the album here. Below are some tracks from it. Buy the album here.

Feist: Pleasure (Interscope)

Leslie Feist released her new album, Pleasure, today via Interscope. It includes the album’s title track and “Century,” which features the guest vocals of Pulp frontman (and solo artist) Jarvis Cocker. Read our review of the album here. Below is the video for “Pleasure” and the audio for “Century.” Buy the album here.

Mew: Visuals (Play It Again Sam)

Danish trio Mew released a new album, Visuals, today via Play It Again Sam. Previously the band shared the album’s closing track, “Carry Me to Safety,” along with videos for “85 Videos” and the jazzy “Twist Quest.” Check out those tracks below. Read our review of the album here. Pick up or download Under the Radar‘s current print issue, the Spring 2017 Issue, to read our new The End interview with Mew’s Jonas Bjerre. Buy the album here.

Sufjan Stevens: Carrie & Lowell Live (Asthmatic Kitty)

Sufjan Stevens released his acclaimed album Carrie & Lowell in 2015. Now he is releasing a corresponding live album and concert film, Carrie & Lowell Live. Carrie & Lowell Live was recorded on November 9, 2015 at the North Charleston Performing Arts Center in South Carolina and the audio will be available digitally, with the video available on YouTube and Vimeo. Buy the album here.

Thurston Moore: Rock n Roll Consciousness (Caroline International)

Thurston Moore (ex-Sonic Youth) is releasing a new album, Rock n Roll Consciousness, today via Caroline International. Rock n Roll Consciousness was recorded with producer Paul Epworth at The Church studios in Crouch End, London. Randall Dunn mixed the album at Avast! in Seattle, Washington. Moore’s backing band since 2014 performed on the album: Deb Googe (of My Bloody Valentine, Snowpony) bass, James Sedwards (Nøught, Chrome Hoof) guitar, and Steve Shelley (Sonic Youth, Crucifucks) drums. Poet Radio Radieux wrote or co-wrote the lyrics for three of the album’s five songs. Below is the “Smoke of Dreams” video. Buy the album here.

BNQT: Volume 1 (Dualtone/Entertainment One/Bella Union)

The members of Midlake (Eric Pulido, McKenzie Smith, Joey McClellan, and Jesse Chandler) have a new supergroup named BNQT that features vocals by Pulido, but also notable singers from four other bands: Band of Horses’ Ben Bridwell, Franz Ferdinand‘s Alex Kapranos, Grandaddy‘s Jason Lytle, and Travis’ Fran Healy. BNQT’s debut album, Volume 1, is out today via Dualtone/Entertainment One/Bella Union. BNQT is supposed to be pronounced as “Banquet” and Volume 1 was recorded and produced mainly in Midlake’s studio in Denton, TX. The album features 10 songs and each of the vocalists wrote and sang two songs each. Pulido joked in a previous press release that BNQT is “like a poor man’s version of The Traveling Wilburys!” He also added: “That’s what art is about for me, creating with other people that you love and appreciate.” Read our review of the album here. Check out various songs from the album below. Buy the album here.

Sylvan Esso: What Now (Loma Vista)

Sylvan Esso are releasing a new album, What Now, today via Loma Vista. What Now is the follow-up to 2014’s self-titled debut album. A previous press release promised: “It’s an album that is both political and personal, and blurs the line between the two.” Read our review of the album here. Below are the videos for “Die Young” and “Radio.” Buy the album here.

Little Cub: Still Life (Domino)

Little Cub are a new trio from South London who have already released some promising singles (“Loveless” and “My Nature”) and sport a sound that would appeal to fans of Boxed In, New Order, and LCD Soundsystem. The band are releasing their debut album, Still Life, today via Domino. Pick up or download Under the Radar‘s current print issue, the Spring 2017 Issue, to read our new Pleased to Meet You interview with Little Cub. Below are four videos by the band. Buy the album here.

Juliana Hatfield: Pussycat (American Laundromat)

Juliana Hatfield released a new album, Pussycat, today via American Laundromat. It was inspired by the 2016 presidential election. “All of these songs just started pouring out of me,” said Hatfield in a press release. “And I felt an urgency to record them, to get them down, and get them out there.” Check out the video for “Short-Fingered Man” below. Buy the album here.

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

May 1st 2017

geometry dash apk Download Here