Nocturnal Admittance: Matt Iwanusa of Caveman on His Most Vivid Recurring Dream | Under The Radar Magazine Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Monday, July 26th, 2021  

Nocturnal Admittance: Matt Iwanusa of Caveman on His Most Vivid Recurring Dream

Otero War Due Out June 17 via Cinematic Music Group, Playing Under the Radar's SXSW Day Party This Wednesday

Mar 14, 2016 Photography by Shervin Lainez SXSW 2016 Party
Bookmark and Share


Nocturnal Admittance is our series where an artist writes about their most vivid recurring dream or nightmare. For this Nocturnal Admittance, Matt Iwanusa of Caveman writes about pre-show jitters that have inspired a recurring nightmare. The New York five-piece are releasing a new album, Otero War, on June 17 via Cinematic Music Group.

Caveman are performing at one of Under the Radar‘s SXSW day parties this Wednesday at the Flamingo Cantina at 6th and Red River (515 E. 6th Street, Austin, TX 78701). The party is free and open to the public; head over to the Eventbrite page for our SXSW parties to RSVP. Caveman go on at 5:00 PM and the rest of the lineup features England’s Yuck, Sunflower Bean, England’s Fear of Men, Spain’s Hinds, Australia’s Hockey Dad, and England’s HÆLOS. The full set times are below and all the info on our three SXSW 2016 events can be found here.

Read on as Iwanusa reveals his regular dream:

If we’re about to play a big show or something I almost always have a dream of us getting ready for it preparing the whole day. Doing sound check and then hanging out. But always in the dream something goes terribly wrong. Sometimes we missed the show because we went out and forgot about it or we completely mess up and are just standing there not knowing what to do. The most recent one was us playing and then I look up and half the crowd was leaving. There’s always random musicians I’ve met over the years that show up and for some reason are playing in the band. It’s an interesting dream. I tend to not get anxious before shows so maybe this is my mind letting it out while I sleep. No idea. At the end of the day it turns out to be pretty funny and memorable. I sometimes think I should get in touch with the random people that come into the dream and we should actually record the song that we play in the dream. But I’d have to remember the song first.

www.cavemantheband.com

Under the Radar SXSW Day Party at Flamingo Cantina, Wednesday, March 16:

5:00 PM: Caveman
4:05 PM: Yuck
3:15 PM: Sunflower Bean
2:25 PM: Fear of Men
1:35 PM: Hinds
12:45 PM: Hockey Dad
12:00 PM: HÆLOS

Caveman Tour Dates:

Wed Mar 16 - Austin, TX @ SXSW - Hard Rock Presents Collide @ Container Bar
Wed Mar 16 - Austin, TX @ SXSW - Under the Radar @ Flamingo Cantina
Wed Mar 16 - Austin, TX @ SXSW - Ground Control Official Showcase @The Sidewinder
Thu Mar 17 - Austin, TX @ SXSW - ACL Bloody Mary Morning @ GSD&M Courtyard
Fri Mar 18 - Austin, TX @ SXSW -Brooklyn BBQ @ Hotel Vegas Annex
Sat Mar 19 - Austin, TX @ SXSW - House of Vans @ The Mohawk
Thu Apr 21 - Portland, OR @ Wonder Ballroom *
Fri Apr 22 - Boise, ID @ Knitting Factory Concert House*
Sat Apr 23 - Salt Lake City, UT @ The Complex*
Sun Apr 24 - Denver, CO @ Ogden Theater*
Tue Apr 26 - Iowa, IA @ The Mill
Wed Apr 27 - Minneapolis, WI @ Varsity Theater*
Thu Apr 28 - Milwaukee, WI @ Pabst Theater*
Fri Apr 29 - Indianapolis, IN @ The Vogue*
Sat Apr 30 - Detroit, MI @ St. Andrew’s Hall*
Mon May 02 - Columbus, OH @ Newport Music Hall*
Tue May 03 - Louisville, KY @ Headliners Music Hall*
Thu May 05 - New York, NY @ Terminal 5*
Fri May 06 - Philadelphia, PA @ Electric Factory*
Sat May 07 - New Haven , CT @ College Street Music Hall*
Sun May 08 - Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club*
Mon May 09 - Boston, MA @ House of Blues*
Wed May 11 - Charlottesville, VA @ The Southern
Thu May 12 - Saxapahaw, NC @ Haw River Ballroom*
Fri May 13 - Knoxville, TN @ The International*
Sun May 15 - Atlanta, GA @ Shaky Knees Festival
Tue May 17 - San Antonio, TX @ Paper Tiger*
Wed May 18 - Dallas, TX @ Granada Theater *
Fri May 20 - Phoenix, AZ @ Crescent Ballroom*
Sat May 21 - Solana Beach, CA @ Belly Up Tavern*
Tue May 24 - Los Angeles, CA @ The Fonda Theatre*
Thu May 26 - San Francisco, CA @ The Regency Ballroom*
Fri May 27 - Sacramento, CA @ Ace of Spades*
Tue May 31 - Chicago, IL @ Virgin Hotel Chicago
Wed Jun 01 - Pittsburgh, PA @ Club Cafe
Jul 15-17 - Louisville, KY @ Forecastle Festival
Sat July 23- Randall’s Island Park, NY @ Panorama Festival
* = with Frightened Rabbit



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.