Pavement Announce B-sides and Rarities Collection, “The Secret History Vol. 1” | Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Sunday, May 19th, 2024  

Pavement Announce B-sides and Rarities Collection, “The Secret History Vol. 1”

Double LP Includes Unreleased Tracks, Peel Sessions, B-sides, and Live Concerts on Vinyl for the First Time

Jun 17, 2015 Pavement Bookmark and Share

Pavement are set to release The Secret History Vol. 1, a double LP B-sides and rarities collection due out August 11 on Matador. It’s the first installment in a planned series of five vinyl compilations of Pavement rarities. This one collects tracks from the Slanted and Enchanted era.

A press release lays out the collection’s contents: “The 30 tracks, 25 of which will be available on vinyl for the first time ever (and previously available on the Slanted & Enchanted: Luxe & Reduxe CD), include B-sides, unreleased session tracks, John Peel sessions, and a 1992 live concert from the Slanted and Enchanted era (1990-1992). The deluxe double LP contains essays by Stephen Malkmus and Spiral Stairs, plus essays from Matador Records, Billions Corporation, and Drag City bosses, and a gorgeous gatefold designed by Rob Carmichael (Animal Collective, Dirty Projectors).”

The press release goes on to say that each Pavement album had a “shadow album” of tracks that didn’t make it on the main album and were released as B-sides or remained unreleased. These compilations will collect those songs on vinyl for the first time. Slanted and Enchanted was Pavement’s debut full-length. It was recorded in January 1991 by original members Stephen Malkmus, Scott Kannberg, and Gary Young, and released in April 1992 by Matador.

Most of the tracks on The Secret History Vol. 1 were previously available on 2002’s Slanted and Enchanted: Luxe & Reduxe double CD reissue, but this is the first time they’ve been released separately and many have never been released on vinyl before. Below is the tracklist for The Secret History Vol. 1. Also read our 2010 article on Pavement and our 2014 joint interview between Stephen Malkmus and Fred Armisen and Carrie Brownstein of Portlandia.

The Secret History Vol. 1 Tracklist:

1. Sue Me Jack

2. So Stark (You’re A Skyscraper)

3. Summer Babe (7” Version)

4. Mercy Snack: The Laundromat

5. Baptiss Blacktick

6. My First Mine

7. Nothing Ever Happens

8. Here (Alternate Mix)

9. Greenlander

10. Circa 1762 (Peel Session 1)

11. Kentucky Cocktail (Peel Session 1)

12. Secret Knowledge Of Backroads (Peel Session 1)

13. Here (Peel Session 1)

14. Rain Ammunition (Peel Session 2)

15. Drunks With Guns (Peel Session 2)

16. Ed Ames (Peel Session 2)

17. The List Of Dorms (Peel Session 2)

18. Conduit For Sale [Live Brixton 1992]

19. Fame Throwa [Live Brixton 1992]

20. Home [Live Brixton 1992]

21. Perfume V [Live Brixton 1992]

22. Summer Babe [Live Brixton 1992]

23. Frontwards [Live Brixton 1992]

24. Angel Carver Blues Mellow Jazz Docent [Live Brixton 1992]

25. Two States [Live Brixton 1992]

26. No Life Singed Her [Live Brixton 1992]

27. So Stark (You’re A Skyscraper) [Live Brixton 1992]

28. Box Elder [Live Brixton 1992]

29. Baby Yeah [Live Brixton 1992]

30. In The Mouth A Desert [Live Brixton 1992]


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.