Premiere: Danny Elfman Interview on Scoring “The End of the Tour” | Under the Radar Magazine Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Wednesday, April 17th, 2024  

Premiere: Danny Elfman Interviewed by “The End of the Tour” Director James Ponsoldt

Soundtrack Now Available from Lakeshore Records

Nov 23, 2015 Danny Elfman Bookmark and Share

If you’re a fan of movies, chances are you’re able to hum at least a few of composer Danny Elfman’s famous scores: the former Oingo Boingo member has spent the last 30 years putting together one of Hollywood’s most famous cinematic discographies. His best-known works are likely his scores for filmmaker Tim Burton, with whom he’s collaborated on 15 films, including Batman, Edward Scissorhands, Pee-wee’s Big Adventure, Beetlejuice, and The Nightmare Before Christmas (where he also provided Jack Skellington’s singing voice.) He’s also the composer behind several of television’s most iconic opening theme songs, including The Simpsons, Tales from the Crypt, and Batman: The Animated Series. In addition, four of his film scores have gone on to be nominated for Academy Awards: those for Milk, Big Fish, Men in Black, and Good Will Hunting.

One of Elfman’s latest projects is The End of the Tour, a film about the late author David Foster Wallace directed by James Ponsoldt (The Spectacular Now) and starring Jason Segel and Jesse Eisenberg. The soundtrack for the film is now available from Lakeshore Records, featuring Elfman’s score plus songs from the film by R.E.M., Felt, Brian Eno, Tindersticks and more.

We’re excited to premiere a rare, candid interview between Elfman and filmmaker James Ponsoldt. In the below, ten-minute clip, the composer opens up to Ponsoldt about the inspirations that went into his score for The End of the Tour, his writing approaches to big versus small and orchestral versus non-orchestral scores, and how he still gets nervous whenever he plays a new score to a film’s director for the first time.

The soundtrack for The End of the Tour is now available from Lakeshore Records. (The full track listing is below.) The film itself is also available on Blu-ray, DVD, and on demand. You can also read our review of the movie—we loved it—or our interview with Jesse Eisenberg about his role in the film.

Track Listing:

01. Intro – Danny Elfman
02. Talk to Jan – Danny Elfman
03. Sunlight Bathed the Golden Glow - Felt
04. Perfect Circle - R.E.M.
05. Room of Books – Danny Elfman
06. Minneapolis – Danny Elfman
07. Reprise 1 – Danny Elfman
08. They Don’t Know - Tracey Ullman
09. Our Lips Are Sealed – Fun Boy Three
10. Going Sour – Danny Elfman
11. The Tour’s Over – Danny Elfman
12. Mall Of America – Danny Elfman
13. Walking the Dog – Danny Elfman
14. Invasion – Danny Elfman
15. The Shoe – Danny Elfman
16. The Big Ship - Brian Eno
17. Here – Tindersticks
18. Reprise 2 – Danny Elfman




Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.