Premiere: Jeff Russo & Noah Hawley “Don’t Come Around Here No More” (Tom Petty) from Legion | Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Thursday, May 23rd, 2024  

Premiere: Jeff Russo & Noah Hawley “Don’t Come Around Here No More” (Tom Petty) from Legion

“It’s Always Blue: Songs from Legion” will be released by Lakeshore on August 17th

Aug 15, 2018 Web Exclusive Bookmark and Share

On August 17th, Lakeshore Records will digitally release It’s Always Blue: Songs from Legion, an album of classic songs re-imagined by composer Jeff Russo and Noah Hawley, creator of the television series Legion.

The Marvel-affiliated TV series – which recently wrapped its second season on FX – makes clever use of familiar songs to underscore its story; Hawley would hand-pick songs that echoed the show’s plot and send them to Emmy-winning composer Jeff Russo (Fargo, The Night Of, What Remains of Edith Finch) for his ideas. Russo would re-record the tracks to fit the show’s style, and then later harmonize with Hawley himself on lead vocals.

The soundtrack includes a grim, highly evocative take on the 1985 Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers classic “Don’t Come Around Here No More,” which calls to mind Fragile-era Nine Inch Nails. You can listen to Hawley & Russo’s industrial spin on this classic rock staple below:

“Creating these covers for Season Two was a unique way to help propel the story,” explains Russo. “All of them have lyrical significance and we thought it would be a great idea to do them in the style of the show’s music.”

Legion follows David Haller (Dan Stevens), a man who mistook himself as schizophrenic to later discover he’s actually a powerful mutant. The show has an absolutely fantastic cast, including Rachel Keller, Bill Irwin, and UTR favorites Aubrey Plaza and Jemaine Clement.

Other musical artists reimagined by Hawley and Russo for It’s Always Blue: Songs from Legion include the Talking Heads (“Burning Down the House”), Cream (“White Room”), The Who (“Behind Blue Eyes”), and Tori Amos (“Cornflake Girl”). You can view the full tracklist below.

Track List:
01. White Rabbit - Noah Hawley & Jeff Russo
02. White Room - Noah Hawley & Jeff Russo
03. Burning Down the House - Noah Hawley & Jeff Russo
04. Don’t Come Around Here No More - Noah Hawley & Jeff Russo
05. Change the World - Noah Hawley & Jeff Russo
06. Superman - Noah Hawley & Jeff Russo
07. Behind Blue Eyes - Noah Hawley & Jeff Russo
08. Nothing In This World - Noah Hawley & Jeff Russo
09. Cornflake Girl - Noah Hawley & Jeff Russo
10. Behind Blue Eyes (Bonus Track) - Jeff Russo feat. Dan Stevens & Navid Negahban
11. Road To Nowhere (Bonus Track) - Jeff Russo feat. Rachel Keller



Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

August 16th 2018

Best TV show ever and a soundtrack to match it.  Buying it ASAP !!!