Premiere: Nick Cave & Warren Ellis – “Be Lovely” from the War Machine soundtrack | Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Thursday, May 23rd, 2024  

Premiere: Nick Cave & Warren Ellis – “Be Lovely” from the War Machine soundtrack

Bad Seeds collaborators score new Brad Pitt movie, OST out 5/26 from Lakeshore & Invada

May 25, 2017 Nick Cave Bookmark and Share

Brad Pitt plays a charismatic four-star general in War Machine, the latest film from writer-director David Michôd. Described as an “anti-establishment, pro-soldier exploration in the form of an absurdist war story,” the Netflix original film was inspired by late journalist Michael Hastings‘ book The Operators: The Wild & Terrifying Inside Story of America’s War in Afghanistan.

The movie is scored by Nick Cave and Warren Ellis, who have collaborated in the Bad Seeds since 1995 (and Grinderman since 2006) and together scored numerous acclaimed films, from The Proposition to The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford. Said Cave and Ellis, who called War Machine their favorite score they’ve done:

“Together we made a score that was both light and dark, propulsive and meditative at the same time. We developed a kind of ‘spiritual electronics’ that captured both the melancholy and the terrible absurdity of the Afghan war. It was a great pleasure to work with David Michôd, who is not only an extraordinary filmmaker but a musician too.”

We’re thrilled to premiere “Be Lovely,” an unearthly and emotive piece from their soundtrack to War Machine.

Australian filmmaker David Michôd’s previous works include The Rover and Animal Kingdom. Brad Pitt stars in the film, which also includes Emory Cohen, RJ Cyler, Topher Grace, Anthony Michael Hall, Anthony Hayes, John Magaro, Scoot McNairy, Will Poulter, Alan Ruck, Lakeith Stanfield, Josh Stewart, Meg Tilly, Tilda Swinton and Sir Ben Kingsley.

War Machine premieres on Netflix on May 26th, the same day Cave and Ellis’ score will be released digitally by Lakeshore & Invada Records. A CD release will arrive on July 7th, followed by a vinyl edition on August 18th.

The full track list for War Machine – Netflix Original Film Soundtrack can be found below, along with a trailer for the movie.


01. Ah America - Nick Cave & Warren Ellis
02. Humble Man - Nick Cave & Warren Ellis
03. The Bubble - Nick Cave & Warren Ellis
04. The Civilian Executive - Nick Cave & Warren Ellis
05. In Liebe Dein – Roedelius
06. Badi Basim - Nick Cave & Warren Ellis
07. Kamee - Roedelius
08. The Moon Landing - Nick Cave & Warren Ellis
09. Our Noise - Nick Cave & Warren Ellis
10. Fabelwein – Roedelius
11. Jeanie - Nick Cave & Warren Ellis
12. NY Snow Globe - Rachel’s
13. Thousands of Parades, All Over America - Nick Cave & Warren Ellis
14. Marjah - Nick Cave & Warren Ellis
15. Staunen im Fjord – Roedelius
16. The Hand Of Helping - Nick Cave & Warren Ellis
17. Be Lovely - Nick Cave & Warren Ellis
18. A Page In The History Books - Nick Cave & Warren Ellis
19. War Machine - Nick Cave & Warren Ellis




Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

August 2nd 2018

Nice blogs,i like our article that is very wonderful platform i say that you use our link td5 bloons and you find informative information and online bloons game so click this link.